The Invasion, a poem

Diana from Myths of the Mirror blog has a writing challenge underway. You can find it here: https://mythsofthemirror.com/2022/01/09/writing-challenge-the-teetering-tbr-pile/.

Poets and writers are challenged to write a poem or story about their TBR. I have used poetic license and written a poem about how my TBR came into existence.

The Invasion by Robbie Cheadle

A loud aggressive ring

brought me fast to the door

I opened it innocently

not knowing the score

***

A long line of books

stood like soldiers of yore

each flashing it’s title

like a banner of war

***

“We’re looking for sanctuary”

declared Orwell, leader of all

“You’re a lover of books

so we’re paying you a call.”

***

“But I’ve simply no room”

I replied with a gasp

“We’ll make a plan, dear”

And they quickly marched past.

***

Up the corridor they tramped

Into my library, so full

“Wake up and make room”

Orwell roared like a bull.

***

Shakespeare, Hardy, and Austen

Regarded him with distain

“You’re ‘cleared out’ trash!

You may not remain.”

***

“Now don’t be unkind,

you’re also not new.

We’ve been disregarded

and we’re in quite a stew.”

***

“Fine, we’ll move forward

and you go in behind”

Before I could stop them

my shelves were redesigned.

***

What a fabulous sight

to see the outcasts stowed

It filled my heart with delight

‘though the shelves overflowed.

***

And that was the start

of my sanctuary for books

Some people find it strange

and give me odd looks

***

“Books are inanimate

They can’t speak to you”

What nonsense they talk

If only they knew.

145 thoughts on “The Invasion, a poem

  1. Hooray! Robbie, I love your sanctuary for all the books – a wonderful and clever story/poem! We really have no choice when the books take over our shelves, rather sit back and relish all the reading ahead! 😀📖

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Annika, thank you, I am delighted you enjoyed this poem. I have books everywhere in my house. They are in piles because I take them off the shelves and look at things in them and leave them for future reference. Poor hubby just about has to climb over them.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. He would never move my books, Annika. He knows I have an alphabetic system for my book shelves and wouldn’t dare to try and return anything to its proper place, poor man. I moan terribly if people put books on shelves because with so many, I can’t find them if my system is messed up.

        Like

Leave a comment