A tree, a fairy, and a poem

A while back, talented photographer, poet, and blogger, Timothy Price, shared a post in which he assigned various trees to different bloggers in the community. You can read Timothy’s post here: https://offcenternoteven.com/2021/10/19/fall-colors-3/.

A few weeks later, Resa McConaghy, a Costume Designer for film and television, shared a gorgeous gown she designed which was inspired by Timothy’s magic tree sanctuary. The gown, which you can view here: https://artgowns.com/2021/11/03/belle-grace/ is intended to capture the essence of mother nature.

The combination of these posts made me wonder what tree in my garden would capture my essence and nature.

This is the one I thought was the best fit:

This series of pictures show my peach tree, the fruits of my peach tree, and what I did with the peaches – I made an American peach cobbler. I was quite pleased with my attempt at peach cobbler as it came out beautifully and sometimes they don’t set properly. Admittedly, I did look at four different recipes and google tips on making a perfect peach cobbler, but it paid dividends.

I am also sharing my autumn fairy and her chocolate house. She is a personal favourite among my fairies.

The Crimson Rose

The crimson rose

Stands tall and alone

A stately queen

On a deep green throne

Surrounded by guards

Thorns barbed and fierce

Unsuspecting fingers

They harshly pierce

Each delicate petal

With a texture of velvet

Such stately splendour

We surely must covet

What secret thoughts

Does this artistry invoke

What wicked actions

Such mystery must revoke

Its cloying fragrance

Permeates each breath

Bringing to mind thoughts

Of peaceful death

By Robbie Cheadle

Extracted from Behind Closed Doors, a collection of unusual poems. The gorgeous cover is designed by Teagan Riordain Geneviene. In case you missed it, Teagan’s latest journey, Journey 11, The Sumelazon Escarpment, in the Dead of Winter series is now available. You can read about it here: https://teagansbooks.com/2021/11/19/announcing-dead-of-winter-journey-11-the-sumelazon-escarpment/

88 thoughts on “A tree, a fairy, and a poem

    1. Hi Stevie, we have two plum trees, a fig tree, two olive trees and a lemon tree. We planted them all as I am a little mad about fruit trees and trees generally. WRT the birds, we haven’t had to net this year as my two cats have turned into effective bird killers. I can’t blame the cats as they are predators by nature, but it has been bad for our poor bird population.

      Liked by 4 people

      1. That’s what happens isn’t it! I once made this wonderful marinade for some seafood kebobs when we were camping. I had been in a rush to get out of the house and just kept dumping stuff into the marinade bag and have no real idea what went in. Of course, it was the most marvelous dish and everyone wanted the recipe –– including me!

        Liked by 2 people

    1. I must admit, Rebecca, that this peach cobbler was delicious. I just wish I’d written down the recipe. Now I’ll have to do all the research again next year. I get a lot of ideas for posts from reading other peoples posts. I even get ideas for whole series of cakes like the Covid-19 cakes that came from a comment by John Rieber.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. You are a peach of a young woman, Robbie, as others have suggested. I’m thrilled that you chose an American peach cobbler. Your photo makes me want to taste the goodness.

    Our single peach tree looked rather forlorn, and we thought it died. About a week ago, I saw some blossoms, so I guess it has decided it wants to live again. Lovely pairings o tree, poetry, and dessert. Thank you!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi Wayne, yes, my fairy is sleeping because it is spring here [smile]. My mom and I planted this peach tree as well as two plum trees, two olive trees, a fig tree, a lemon tree and recently, a pomegranate tree. I love trees.

      Like

  2. I love this post, Robbie! Your peach tree is so big and healthy with healthy peaches. I love peach cobbler. I used to have two peach trees. It was before I knew how to attend to my garden. The birds ate the peaches before they were ripened. I ended up cutting them down. Then I planted two plum trees and an apple tree. The orange tree was there when we first moved in. I wanted to plant a lemon tree, but citrus trees are in quarantine for many states right now and I can’t buy one. One grower just told us she would grow them in her own home and is not subject to being quarantined. I look forward to buying one from her. I’m also thinking about getting an avocado tree.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I feel the same way, Robbie. We have so many things in common.

        For several years now, the homegrown citrus is a place the Asian citrus psyllid, or ACP, likes to hang out, infecting other trees with a plant disease it can carry. At first, it affected two counties. Now, the disease spreads to four counties.
        I may not be able to grow a lemon tree for a long time.

        Liked by 2 people

  3. Your peaches on the tree look delicious, and made me try to remember the last time I had eaten a peach. I have never considered what tree I might be.
    It would be lovely to be an Ancient Oak that has seen so much pass under it, but I think a London Plane Tree would be more suitable, given my own history.

    The Mighty Oak


    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. A very inspiring post, full of wonderful recommendations of other posts as well (and a novella). I have no idea what tree I would be, but you’ve chosen very well, and the peach clobber looks delicious. And I’ve also enjoyed your poem. Thanks, Robbie.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi Meeks, my aunt had the most wonderful apricot tree in the garden of her house when I was growing up. My cousin and I used to climb it and pick the apricots. Delicious. A great choice. I don’t have one in my garden as my mom chose the peach tree.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh! I wish I could send you some of my apricot seedlings. I planted the Mother tree in a previous property, well over twenty years ago. When we moved, I potted up one of her babies and finally planted it here, in Warrandyte. The seedling grew into a wonderful tree that has fruit every bit as delicious as its Mother tree. And we get seedlings every spring. These days I run an adoption service for baby apricot trees. 😀

        Liked by 2 people

  5. Robbie, a lovely post that has me delving across the links! Resa’s dress is stunning and what a wonderful idea of Timothy’s to find trees for others within the community! Wow! A peach tree sounds exotic to me (apple and pear trees are the norm here!). Perfect for you and congratulations on the Peach Cobbler. I imagine this was a hit with the family. A beautiful poem to finish this treat of a post, Robbie! xx

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Thank you for the shout out Robbie!
    It’s about time I got here.
    I love the poem! Guess what? I’m making peach pie today!
    Is that chocolate house edible?
    Your tree is sensational!
    Teagan makes fabulous book covers.
    You sure know how to pack a post! Wonderful!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. HI Resa, I am glad you enjoyed this post. The chocolate house is edible. I created a gingerbread and chocolate house diorama last year for Christmas and this was one of the houses I made. Teagan does create marvelous covers and writes fabulous stories too. I am just finishing journey 9.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Amazon is difficult to work with for South Africans, and that’s a plain fact. I’m glad my publisher gets to deal with them and I encourage people to buy my books from Lulu.com or TSL Publications rather. Amazon puts a huge mark up on my picture books.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Those peaches look delicious and so does the peach cobbler. The peach blooms are so you- charming and generous. I read your comment of the trees in your garden and I can only imagine how beautiful the garden must look in Spring.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment