#Bookreview – Grief Songs: Poems of Love & Remembrance by Elizabeth Gauffreau

What Amazon says

Grief Songs: Poems of Love & Remembrance by [Elizabeth  Gauffreau]

“Poetry readers willing to walk the road of grief and family connections will find Grief Songs: Poems of Love & Remembrance a psychological treasure trove. It’s a very accessible poetic tribute that brings with it something to hold onto–the memories and foundations of past family joys, large and small.”
~Diane Donovan, Midwest Book Review

“Grief Songs: Poems of Love & Remembrance is a passionate ode to loved ones lost and an intimate portrayal of one family’s shared grief. It holds the key to solace in home photographs and illustrates just how special our singular moments can be. ~Toni Woodruff, Independent Book Review

“A beautiful, personal collection of family photos and poems that express the author’s most inner feelings. Nostalgic and heartfelt, Gauffreau’s poems are written in the Japanese style of tanka, simple, thoughtful, and full of love. Filled with wonderful memories of the past.” ~Kristi Elizabeth, Manhattan Book Review

My review

I reviewed this book in my capacity as a member of Rosie’s Book Review Team. If you would like your book reviewed, you can contact Rosie Amber here: http://rosieamber.wordpress.com/.

Grief Songs: Poems of Love & Remembrance is an emotional depiction of the poet’s family and life told mainly through tanka poems linked to a specific family photograph. The collections starts with a poignant and beautiful trilogy of poems dedicated to the poet’s father and mother, both of whom have passed from this mortal life.

For me, the first poem was particularly striking as it demonstrated so much insight into the human understanding of death and the difference between a child’s perception of its permanence and that of an adult.

Each of the tanka poem takes a small step forward in the lives of the poet’s direct family and tells a story of love, life, and experience. Although, as the name of the collection suggests, each poem is tinged with the sadness of loss, they are also coloured with the joy of lives well spent.

This book is a quick read, approximately an hour, but it will leave you viewing grief differently and reflecting for a long time afterwards.

Pre-order Grief Songs: Poems of Love & Remembrance

Amazon US Pre-order link

74 thoughts on “#Bookreview – Grief Songs: Poems of Love & Remembrance by Elizabeth Gauffreau

  1. When I read Telling Sonny, I became a follower of Liz’s work. She is an incredible writer. Her style is simple, direct, and personal. With just a phrase, she can draw readers into their souls. I’ll definitely be reading her book of poetry. Thank you, Robbie.💗

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I should get a copy. I have lost a lot of people close to me, including both parents and my husband. I am sad that my best friend from childhood has cancer and even though she is fighting it, I know I will lose her in the next year or so. This might help me prepare a bit.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Yes, lovely review Robbie. I’ve just pre-ordered my copy as well. Poems about grief and loss are necessary literature, and I just know this book will grow my understanding and love.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Hi Robbie, I am a big fan of Liz’s writing and I am adding “Grief Songs” to my reading list. Unfortunately, grief is a part of life and we can learn from each other, even though each person and situation is unique. Thank you for a wonderful review. I am intrigued by your phrase “…coloured with the joy of lives well spent.”

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment