Robbie’s Inspiration W3 Prompt #74: An Ode to my Oven

I am going to be away in the bush for a few days with limited access to WP so I won’t be posting again until next week.

I have tried to find some new cake pictures for Liz.

An Ode to my Oven

Oh, how I love my oven

It’s my favourite toy

I use it to create

cake and fondant masterpieces

And, don’t forget the gingerbread

Picture caption: Tutankhamun death mask cake

Gingerbread slabs

Baked on flat trays

Smelling of cinnamon and spices

Cut out with a cookie cutter

In a uniform design

Others designed

To detailed specifications

A castle

Picture caption: Gingerbread casstle

A fairy mansion

A train

A caravan

And a windmill

And now I’ve got something exciting

Hidden up my sleeve

A different Halloween design

A complex confectionary feat

Some are just gingerbread

And some include shortbread

Made using my special shortbread recipe

Gifted by my mum

I’ve also used it

To bake plate-sized rounds

And sandwich them using cream

And delicious seasonal fruit

Picture caption: Strawberry shortbread cake

I’ve made hunderds of cakes

Some are special

Van Gogh’s sunflower field cake

And Lion Scream

Featuring a bridge

Have you ever tried

To make a bridge out of cake?

Picture caption: Lion Scream cake that inspired Lion Scream the poetry book

I carved it out of sponge cake

Cooked to perfection

In my reliable oven

I’ve made rich chocolate

Red velvent

Orange and chocolate

Lemon served with curd

Vanilla milk sponge

Marbled

Fruit cake for Christmas

Simnel cake for Easter

With almond paste

Layered and baked

To a delectable golden brown.

Lots of birthday cakes

Some are strange

Picture caption: Minecraft creeper cake

Meringue cakes

Train station cakes

Roses cakes

Book cakes

And big boobed cakes too

Then, there are baked treats

All kinds of scones

Sausage rolls

Swiss rolls

Hummingbird cake with cream cheese icing

Banana bread

Carrot cake

Biscuits of all sorts

Baked cheesecake

Savory pies

Oh, how I love my oven

It’s my favourite toy

Prompt

The iconic Chilean poet Pablo Neruda (1904 – 1973) would have turned 119 this summer. Neruda was known for his historical epics, political manifestos, and love poems. Neruda’s incisive and joyful odes were often dedicated to ordinary objects making them approachable yet surreal. 

Click HERE to read “Ode to My Socks,” translated from Spanish by Robert Bly, in which Neruda describes his covered feet as “two fish made / of wool, / two long sharks / sea-blue.” 

  • Inspired by Neruda’s electric, surreal images, write a joyful ode to an ordinary object in your life. It doesn’t matter what it is, think kindly about how to honor and describe this praiseworthy item of yours.
  • This particular poem of Neruda’s consists of 215 words, so try to bring yours close to the word count. Not exactly– close; but not too short. AND Joyful, remember!

You can join in here: https://skepticskaddish.com/2023/09/27/w3-prompt-74-weave-written-weekly/

The prompt is from Selma. Her winning poem is here: https://selmamartin.com/and-in-that-moment-somewhere-a-band-was-playing/

105 thoughts on “Robbie’s Inspiration W3 Prompt #74: An Ode to my Oven

  1. Oh so loved this poem… I have a new toy too… Its my Air-fryer oven… Its become my go to tool… in baking recently as the use of our conventional oven is now so, so, expensive to run due to energy costs.. 🙂
    I even now bake my bread in there.. 🙂

    Loved all of those cakes and fondant creations Robbie..

    Have a Wonderful time enjoying Nature and Wild life in the Bush…
    EnJOY…
    Much love xx ❤ xx

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Golly, Robbie. The poem grand. A great ode to your toy.
    And the real photos, stellar.

    I made & decorated birthday cakes for my little people every year. Snoopy, Doraemon, Pirates 🏴‍☠️ and Pokémon (many) … One year I made a Pokémon Ball. And inserted treasured Pokémon for each little guest so that each slice revealed a toy. That was my greatest achievement.
    Yours are out of my league.
    Oh lovely Ode. Thanks for sharing. Xoxo

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Now you have me in the mood for gingerbread, lol. I love all your creations, Robbie. I like my new oven, but I’ve really gotten attached to the air fryer I got for Christmas. We’ve found some really good recipes.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Enjoy the Bush Robbie. I loved your beautiful cake display tribute to your oven. There’s a great baking gameshow on Netflix called ‘Is It Cake?’ You should check it out, you would love it. They make cakes that represent anything from shoes to furniture. It’s fun and fascinating to watch. 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m sure your oven deserves the poem and will be very pleased with it. Some incredible cakes and other creations here, Robbie. Pablo Neruda… I’m lucky enough to be able to read his poems in Spanish. Have a great weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment