Robbie’s Inspiration: A Mother’s Lament: A Collection of Poems by Nikki Rodwell

What Amazon says

They say the pain of childbirth is made more bearable by the fact it is ‘pain with a purpose’. Sometimes the pain that mother’s experience later is equally, if not more, painful. Through her poems Nikki gives purpose to that pain and hopes that mothers who have grieved in any way or struggled with their relationships, will relate to her words.

Making sense of pain is a complex and personal journey. In this collection of poems, Nikki bears her soul and reveals that the deeper the grief, the deeper the love. Although it’s easy to feel disempowered and lost within pain, she demonstrates how, by stepping into it, we can give ourselves permission to heal.

My review

I reviewed this book in my capacity as a member of Rosie’s Book Review Team. If you would like your book reviewed, you can contact Rosie Amber here: http://rosieamber.wordpress.com/.

This collection of poems has an undertone of deep sadness and each poem revolves around loss and the erosion of parent and child relationships. I had a close relationship with my parents when I was growing up, especially my mother who was an open minded person and easy to relate too at that time. I was able to confide in my mother without fear of judgement or rejection. My relationship with my dad was a little more ‘pitted’ as I was ‘a daughter’ but it was still a good and solid relationship which I could depend on.

The poems in this book describe breakdowns in parental relationships which I found tragic. Although I don’t have personal experience with this, and I hope I never will have, I can relate to it through friends, both when I was a youngster, and now as a mother.

The emotions of the poet in A Mother’s Lament are strong and vibrant, a bit like screams of frustration on a page.

My favourite poem in the collection is Mirage, as follows:
“I see you through fog misted glass
three shadows blurred around the edges
Sun catches the crystal
blinding my vision,
highlighting the grimy smears.
I strain to keep you in focus
but you are fading.
I wipe the dirt,
my hands heavy with shame,
but you still don’t appear;
my mind was playing tricks.
Was it a mirage?
The glass remains cloudy.
I step outside
to the lonely space where you once stood,
and discover:
the glass was dirty on the outside.”

For me, this poem embodied the essence of this collection. The sadness, guilt, desperate wish for reconciliation, and also the disappointment and frustration at the mother’s lack of success in bridging the gap.

An excellent collection of heart breaking and vivid poems.

Purchase A Mother’s Lament: A Collection of Poems

Amazon US

72 thoughts on “Robbie’s Inspiration: A Mother’s Lament: A Collection of Poems by Nikki Rodwell

  1. My experience with my parents was similar to yours, Robbie. Having lost my father a few years back, there are many things I wonder about. I’ve read several great reviews of this book, and I love the poem you share. Thanks for the recommendation and congratulations to the author.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you for the introduction, Robbie. I’m sure Nikki’s poetry will comfort those who’ve experienced the heartbreak of broken relationships within the family. No one knows the pain unless you’ve experienced it within your own family.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. The poem you chose is a sad reflection of how the breakdown of parental relationships affect both Parents and Children…
    As you may remember I had a volatile relationship with my own Mother, which led to over 10 years of her not speaking, despite repeated attempts from my end to heal the rift… In the end I was only continually wounding myself… Its heart-breaking and relate.. And writing out in poetry is also a way to heal those inner wounds…
    Excellent Choice on book Robbie , Great Review…. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. HI Sue, I do recall you had a difficult relationship with your mother. Such a sad thing when communication between a mother and child breaks down. My mom can drive me made, especially lately when she does things she shouldn’t and hurts herself, but we do get on very well. Fortunately, my relationships with my boys is also good to date.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Robbie, thanks for the introduction to Nikki and for sharing that heartbreaking yet poignant poem. I am also grateful I had good relationships with my parents. As a result, I miss them both (today marks 11 years since my mom died and almost 6 years for my dad). And fortunately, my husband and I have a close relationship with our children. But relationships aren’t always joyful, and I’m sure Nikki’s writing will help those who can relate to her experiences. I’ll need some tissue nearby because the topic itself breaks my heart, but I do want to read her book. And I wish her all the best…❤️

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Robbie, a superb and insightful review. The favourite poem you shared is powerful and intense, full of sadness and despair. Like you, I have a very close relationship with my mother and always able to share everything -it is wonderful and enriching to be such good friends but I have seen the opposite and it is heartbreaking.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. HI Lauren, like you I always got on well with my parents. They live on the same property as my family in their own cottage and have been very involved in my children’s lives. Sometimes they can drive me a little mad when they don’t want to go to doctors and that sort of thing, but I can’t imagine life without them.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh for a mother’s love and share of Nikki’s book so crushing. Her poem shares the hardship of pain so well shared. I am in awe of her bravery and your kind hearted sharing of her work!!! Nice review Robbie! 💗

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment