#Writephoto – Alone, a poem

This is a poem I wrote in October 2017 for Sue Vincent‘s write photo challenge. Thank you to Willow for the idea of re-sharing posts written for Sue’s delightful prompts. You can read Willow’s post here: https://willowdot21.wordpress.com/2020/11/05/sue-vincents-thursday-photo-prompt-renewal-2/

Sometimes I long to be alone,

to think about the vastness of the sky.

Reflecting on important things in life,

like what happens when you die.

***

There was a time when being alone,

was something I had grown to fear.

A couple of telephone calls and then,

Company would quickly appear.

***

Then my boys made an appearance,

and life was suddenly busy.

I ran around so very much,

it made me feel quite dizzy.

***

Although they filled me with delight,

they occupied every cranny and nook.

Every single thing they did each day,

a reason for me to stop and look.

***

Going to the bathroom soon became,

a very un-solitary matter,

If I managed to steal away to go,

soon on the door they’d batter.

***

At night the children visited our room,

in need of a soothing cuddle.

They’d seem to always end up staying,

and we all wake up in a huddle.

***

I never had a moment free,

To read or take a breather.

The only time I got any peace,

was when they were ill with a fever.

***

At these scary times, it didn’t help me,

to see them lying quite pale and ill,

Being alone did not set me free,

but was an unwanted and bitter pill.

***

Time is passing by so quickly,

as they venture further from home.

Making new friends and experiencing life,

as around and about they do roam.

***

Their leaving home draws ever nearer,

when I’ll awaken to silence each day.

but strangely enough I don’t want this,

and will seize every opportunity for delay.

***

I fear the delight of being alone,

may then loose its lustre.

I will have to prevent loneliness,

with all the will I can muster.

By Robbie Cheadle

67 thoughts on “#Writephoto – Alone, a poem

  1. Robbie this is beautiful, a lovely reminder of a young mothers lot. Thank you for the link, I am going to link this poem on Sue’s latest post so she can enjoy it 💜💜💜. Thank you for supporting Sue 💜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Marian, thank you for your comment. I came across this when I looked for a response to one of Sue’s challenges. It resonates with me even more now than when I originally wrote it. My oldest will be 18 in a few months time.

      Like

  2. This is wonderful Robbie. It made me laugh and it made me sad. You brought back some sweet memories. I am alone a lot now, I don’t mind most of the time, but every now and then, I get sad.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you for this too, Robbie! Only this way our human community can grow in a better way. Time you had not spent for children, you will have lost forever, and often you will pay it later much more.

        Like

  3. Aw, that’s quite sad, Robbie. Never having had kids, I don’t know exactly the feelings you describe, but I did have very attached dogs for 17 years, and when they passed it was very, very empty in the house. But, you do get used to it. Plus, the kids will come home and visit 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Robbie – ah the empty nest, something we all must face eventually. I remember those years when I had no time to myself and how all of my days were spent in conversation with my children. It’s much different for me already, even though we have a few more years before the nest is empty. You get used to it a little at a time, and there is comfort in knowing that they will come back 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, it is already like this for me. My oldest will be 18 in a few months and will starting to drive. He is always busy with his own studies and interests. He’ll be going off to University in 2022 so we only really have him at home for just over 1 more year.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Words are the only reason, why a paper could be the most beautiful thing in the world..

    It’s difficult to make words work for us, or having the right choice of words…

    You are intelligent about it..

    Mesmerizing piece

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a comment