#Bookreview – Just an Odd Job Girl by Sally Cronin

Just an Odd Job Girl by [Cronin, Sally]

What Amazon says

At 50 Imogen had been married for over 20 years, and was living in a big house, with money to spare. Suddenly she is traded-in for a younger model, a Fast-Tracker.
Devastated, she hides away and indulges in binge eating. But then, when hope is almost gone, she meets a new friend and makes a journey to her past that helps her move on to her future.

My review

I was going to start this review by saying that this was the I loved this book the best out of the books by Sally Cronin I have had the privilege to read. I then realised, as I reflected on the others, that this is not actually true, I loved them all equally, so I am going to start by simply saying that I loved this book by Sally Cronin.

Imogen has been rejected by her husband of 20 years. She discovers that he has been having an affair, that the woman has become pregnant and that he wants a divorce all in one go. It is devastating to Imogen who has devoted her life to building her home, raising her children and being a good wife and mother. Somehow, along the way, Imogen seems to have lost all her vitality and spunk and changed into another, less vivid, version of herself. Although she knows this, Imogen struggles to overcome her depression and feelings of inadequacy until she makes a impulsive decision to go for an interview with a placement agency for older women and find herself a job.

The man who interviews Imogen is interested in her and her past jobs and life. He spends time talking to her and draws her out of the shell she has crawled into. As Imogen starts to remember her previous challenges and triumphs in her jobs as a younger person, her resilient character and determination start to resurface. Imogen embarks on a wonderful make-over and shares her numerous entertaining jobs with the reader. They range from a young girl selling trinkets on the beach, to the resourceful manageress of a steakhouse and lastly, to the manageress of a hotel in Cornwall [which I have not been to but which sounded quite rural and remote to me and the thought of arriving on my own at such a place, by train and late in the evening, gave me the shivers], with many other interesting experiences in between. Things in Imogen’s varied roles don’t always go smoothly and her mishaps and slightly reckless decisions will have you howling with laughter.

I really enjoyed this book and reading all about the various odd jobs Imogen had in her youth. The ending is  very satisfying and leaves you with a very happy and uplifted feeling.

I rated this book five out of five stars.

Purchase Just an Odd Job Girl

 

97 thoughts on “#Bookreview – Just an Odd Job Girl by Sally Cronin

  1. A lovely review of a book which is on my list for Jay to bring back to me from the UK …I think I will be awol for a few weeks my list of books is ..just a few…lol… Shhhh don’t tell him 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi Carol, I struggle to get physical books delivered for a reasonable price here in South Africa. Amazon will only courier now as the books get stolen. I also buy when I am abroad and I also buy heaps of ebooks now.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi, Robbie..I buy some e-books but prefer a book so when anyone comes over I order from my list and they bring them to me..But yes Amazon is no use here either..we have an Asian book shop which carries some books but generally mainstream authors 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This book sounds great, but why is it that when you say “I love them all equally” I feel like you’re lying. It’s like what you say about your children “I love them all equally”, but secretly you have a favourite. 😉😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment