Robbie’s Inspiration – W3 112 Haibun #poetry #W3

II. Jude’s prompt guidelines

According to the Oxford dictionary, onomatopoeia is the ‘formation of a word which describes its sound’. It is a poetic device that adds sound to your poem.

You can join in here: https://skepticskaddish.com/2024/06/19/w3-prompt-112-weave-written-weekly/

My haibun

This haibun isn’t what I planned to write for this challenge. Yesterday, I received a message from my elderly aunt saying she had been to the doctor because of severe pain in her kidneys. The doctor had administered an intravenous antibiotic and painkiller. I told her I’d keep my phone on in case she got worse and needed help. I slept badly and had a very bad dream. I woke up very early with a terrible feeling of trepidation … I’ve had this sort of dream and feeling of anxiety before and it’s always ended with a traumatic medical experience.

Witch Blood

In the cold, darkness of the pre-dawn, magic is at its strongest. Swoosh! Swoosh! I feel my blood moving through my body. Bungolian* blood. Witch blood. Blood tinged with the mythology of the black dog of East Anglia and the ancient ghosts of Bungay Castle. It passes subtle messages through my nervous system. A warning of difficult times ahead. Manifesting in a dream.

Ring! Ring! The sharp call of the phone pulls me out of my state of morbid anxiety. A hangover from the dream. It’s my aunt.

Pant! Pant! She’s in appalling pain. Can barely speak. Dream warning manifests as a trip to the emergency room.

Now I’m waiting …

***

Ring! Dream mist forms shards

”Hello!” Slice into tense mind

Night’s message unveiled

*My family come from Bungay in East Anglia. My mother always tells me the women have a sixth sense due to our witch blood. I don’t take her seriously, of course, but I do always have a bad dream and a feeling of anxiety before something goes wrong.

I spent the whole day today in the Emergency Room at the hospital. I arrived with my prostrate aunt at 8am and left her on the ward in the hands of the nurse at 5pm. She has a chronic kidney infection and stones.

I spent the first 5 hours sitting in the waiting room while the doctor and nurses ran test after test. It was like being at a busy airport. During that period two patients arrived by helicopter and three ambulances arrived. There is a sort of fascination to watching all this activity and organised chaos.

I spent another 2 1/2 hours helping the nurse as she was in great pain and very anxious. I also helped with her move to the ward. The ER nurse asked if I was a nurse. I told him that I’m not but that I have 21 years of practice with ERs and hospitals and nursing sick people at home.

Picture caption: Door from the inside of the ER
Picture caption: Helicopter 2 – the patient was an elderly man who’d fallen and broken his hip. He came from a remote farm and the ambulance couldn’t cross the river. I spoke briefly to his daughter in the waiting room. Her wait wasn’t very long as he went to surgery.
Picture caption: 2nd ambulance. The patient was a teenage boy who’d fallen and hit his head very badly. I spend a few hours with his young brother in the waiting room while the mother did the necessary with the older boy.
Picture caption: Helicopter 1 just after its arrival
Picture caption: Helicopter 1 close up. The patient had a heart attack. His elderly mother accompanied him and she was in quite a state. I got her a coffee and listened to her story. He was admitted and she left for the ward.

85 thoughts on “Robbie’s Inspiration – W3 112 Haibun #poetry #W3

  1. Oh dear. I hope your aunt will be OK. I tend to get a very bad feeling just before a bad event too. Perhaps we are just more sensitive to these things. I’m sure you know your way around a hospital quite well by now.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 5 hours in the Emergency waiting room – yuck! Glad you were able to help out, comfort relatives of those coming in and help the nurse. I know you are are good person, but this proves it 🙂

    Hope your aunt is doing well.

    Have a good weekend and a wonderful week ahead.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Everything in the hospital is hurry up and wait, hurry up and wait. I know this because I was an RN. Everything takes forever when you’re waiting on lab or test results, or meds to come up from the pharmacy. I feel your pain regarding the time you sat there.

    I hope your aunt will be all right. God bless the hands caring for her.🌺

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m so sorry to hear about your aunt. I hope she’s rsting comfortably. It’s good that you were able to help others while you were waiting for answers for your aunt. I’m sure they appreciated it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Liz, I do what I can. I always feel a need to comfort anxious people and they always respond. I feel better knowing they are calmer. I think my calmness helps others, it gives them strength. I am calm because I’ve learned to be like that. Getting into a state is exhausting and unhelpful. Dealing with sick people is a long road so you have to keep yourself well and strong.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. You are a compassionate person and a good listener. I know something of your personality and am not surprised that you comforted others during the wait at the hospital. I am praying now for you , Robby, and for your aunt’s recovery,

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I hope your aunt is feeling better today. Kidney stones can be excruciating. I’m glad you were able to help others while you were waiting. Hospitals are always stressful, and as you note there is a lot of waiting. (K)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Kerfe, for some reason people always talk to me. I think it’s because I smile at them. I am always happy to listen and I know it helps people to share their fears. I am used to waiting in ERs and hospitals. I’m a veteran hospital person ❤️‍🔥

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh my goodness, Robbie. You have an amazing capacity for compassion and have a clear mind to take necessary action at the appropriate times. You reminded me of one of my favourite quotes: “A single act of kindness throws out roots in all directions, and the roots spring up and make new trees.”Amelia Earhart

    I hope that your aunt is resting comfortably now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Rebecca, you are very kind. I think of myself as a practical person who does what is needed. I thank God I am a person who copes well under pressure. There was a lady in the ER who was in floods of tears and it makes it much harder for the staff when they have to also deal with hysterical relatives. She was asleep when I left. They gave her morphine. The pain was terrible 😢

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I wish your aunt well. By coincidence I have just signed up for a regular donation to our voluntary Air Ambulance service which often flies over our home. I had friends in Bungay.

    Like

  9. Hi Robbie. I’m sorry about what your aunt is going/gone through. I do hope she’s mending. And yes, I know well about that sixth sense. I get the same pangs and warnings in dreams when something ominous is coming too. The extra sensory is both a gift and a curse. Like you, I know my way around hospital protocols quite well. We are born caregivers. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Your Haibun is quite the emotional rollercoaster! Seems you being in the emergency room was a Godsend for the others who ended up there – sounds like you were an unexpected angel for several people as well as your Aunt!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Your compassion and humanity shine beautifully bright in the darkness of this night. 

    “Blood tinged with the mythology of the black dog of East Anglia and the ancient ghosts of Bungay Castle.” It was like reading Rudyard Kipling (I hadn’t heard of Bungay in East Anglia). 
    I’m sorry about your aunt and your long waiting in ER. I wish her a good recovery. You were an angel for all those people. Look after yourself, Robbie 💙

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Lesley, I’ve spent so much time in ERs and hospitals with family members that I’ve learned to be calm and patient. Listening to others helps them and passes time. I like people and am interested in their stories. I’m glad you enjoyed my haibun.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Powerful haibun, Robbie. I get that feeling too and feel the dread of what is to come. Nice you could be their for the others dealing with the same in ER. Sending hugs and prayers xo

    Liked by 1 person

  13. 😞 Robbie 😞 ~ I’m so sorry to hear about your aunt… I just read that you wrote in another post that she has taken a turn for the worse… Is anyone there to help her besides you?

    You are in my thoughts.

    Much love,
    David

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I’m sorry to hear about your aunt, Robbie. So glad you were there for her (and not a nurse but could be one as you know what you’re doing!). It is frightening to have that feeling of something bad happening, like a shiver or bad dream that comes true… HUGS

    Like

Leave a comment