Robbie’s Inspiration – W3 #111: Golden Shovel Poem and Winston Churchill’s War Rooms, London #poetry #Churchill #W3

I was selected to chose this week’s prompt and this is it:

II. Robbie’s prompt guidelines

A “golden shovel” poem is a poetic form wherein each word of one line from another poem serves as the end word of each line for a newly constructed poem.

You can read more about golden shovel poems and find some examples here:

https://poets.org/glossary/goldenshovel

  • For this week’s W3 promptchose a quote by any famous or well-known politician, artist, writer, or poet and write a golden shovel poem.
    • Identify your famous person in the post. 

You can join in W3 here: https://skepticskaddish.com/2024/06/12/w3-prompt-111-weave-written-weekly/

The Best Directions

I am not known for my skills in diplomacy.

In fact, my ability to call a spade a spade is

legendary. I have always found this to be the

best way of remaining true to myself. It’s an art

that many more people should learn. Avoidance of

duplicity of meaning and directness in telling

what needs improvement is my way of helping people

to become the best they can be. If colleagues get to

upset about facing the truth, then they need to go

and get some counselling. To praise mediocrity is to

promote it and make it a way of life. The path to hell

is paved with good intensions. Rather, get in

line to receive proper feedback and advice. It’s such

a good idea to identify areas of weakness. Develop a

plan to improve your performance. Make truth your way

of overcoming obstacles and you will find that

people will trust you and will invest in you. They

will see you as someone who wants to learn. Always ask

for assistance in finding the best way to take things for

ward. People like others who know how to follow directions.

“Diplomacy is the art of telling people to go to help in such a way that they ask for directions.” Winston Churchill

TC and I visited London for 2 days in 2018. We visited Winston Churchill’s War Rooms.

This is what the website says about this museum:

“A branch of the acclaimed Imperial War Museum, the Churchill War Rooms are set in the secret wartime bunker from which the cigar-puffing Prime Minister of Britain, Winston Churchill, directed the country’s war efforts. Situated beneath street level in London’s Westminster district, the Cabinet War Rooms were constructed shortly before the outbreak of World War II. Little has changed within them since the war came to a close in 1945, though these days, the underground complex functions as a museum, documenting the workings of the United Kingdom’s wartime government.”

These are a few photographs from that visit:

81 thoughts on “Robbie’s Inspiration – W3 #111: Golden Shovel Poem and Winston Churchill’s War Rooms, London #poetry #Churchill #W3

  1. “If colleagues get

    upset about facing the truth, then they need to go

    and get some counselling.”

    🤣 I hear you. My directness and honesty are always making enemies. As they say “people can’t handle the truth.” Everyone should be in counseling.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Hello Robbie! I think I understand you too, but the truth has to be spoken.The enemies that you do with it are the evil that would still follow you. Regardless of whether you would say the truth or not .. Thanks for sharing the photo’s of the war room, and the beautiful poem. Best wishes, Michael

    Liked by 2 people

  3. “Avoidance of

    duplicity of meaning and directness in telling

    what needs improvement is my way of helping people

    to become the best they can be. ”

    Great advice! I’m not always as direct as I should be; I tend to be a people pleaser.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. That’s a wise observation of Churchill’s. I agree with you that directness is preferable to beating around the bush (or as my daughters call it, giving out “participation trophies”), but a lot of people (believe me, I worked for many of them) cannot be direct without also being mean and turning it into a personal fault instead of a mistake that can be corrected. It’s hard to be both honest and kind. (K)

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Bad work should never be tolerated. I agree completely about that. And people should be willing to learn. Our culture is so focused on perfection that people are afraid to even try, lest they make a mistake. We should acknowledge mistakes as a way to learn, rather than expecting to always have the right answer.

        Like

  5. When I worked for Special Operation in the Met Police in London, we had a private tour of the War Rooms, and the Escape Tunnels that still operate around 10 Downing Street. Shared on Twitter, Robbie.

    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Great! I agree, prefer straight talking, how else can we know what we are doing wrong and learn – it helps if given as constructive, maybe if we could all be truthful instead worried about what we can say, it would make life easier…..

    Great prompt, I have yet to do a golden shovel, working on it….

    💞Suzanne

    Liked by 2 people

  7. A great post, as always, Robbie. LOVED “The Best Directions.”

    Oh the joys of “feedback.” It is a very complex and emotionally charged activity. I agree that embracing feedback successfully involves being open-minded, viewing it as an opportunity for growth, and using it constructively. The issue of course is whether the feedback is authentic. To determine if feedback is honest and honorable, we can assess the intentions behind it, consider the credibility of the source, and look for specific examples or evidence. I love feedback, even though it may be extremely difficult to process and requires time to adjust my thinking to embrace something new. This past week, I have had two opportunities to accept feedback. And I have learned and integrated this feedback into my life.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Robbie, first of all, this is so good – I love the frank tone, which compliments the content of the piece! Second of all, thank you for the prompt! I loved it. Third of all, both my mother and my wife are like you in this way… I wonder if that’s why they don’t get along with one another 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Being autistic, I am not one to tell people what they want to hear, but rather speak quite directly. I’ve learnt that not all truths are worth sharing, so I may withhold my thoughts on a particular topic, but if you ask me a question, be prepared to get a truthful answer 😉
    I could relate to this poem so much! Thank you for sharing about the museum too

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Wow, the war rooms! And your poem tells me that we are both very straightforward when we talk. Sometimes it’s too much for the other person haha but I like being able to be direct 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment