How to make a Christmas wreath using chocolates and tinsel

Christmas is my favourite time of the year [right after Spring, Christmas in July, Easter and birthdays]. I start preparing for Christmas weeks in advance so that our house is packed with lots of fun surprises and home make treats on the day.

I may have mentioned before that my Mother brought an old gramophone and a huge pile of vinyl records with her when we came out to South Africa on a ship. I loved those records and used to listen to them over and over again. My Mother had [and I now have as I nicked all the records from my long-suffering younger sister, Cath] a number of Christmas records. My favourite was [and still is] Jim Reeves’ Twelve songs of Christmas. Of his lovely selection, this one is my favourite:

As part of our Christmas preparations, Michael and I are making Christmas wreathes using chocolates and tinsel.

What you will need

A wire coat hanger bent into a circular shape;

Six short lengths of narrow ribbon;

A packet of chocolates with wrappers that tie;

A length of tinsel;

Once Christmas decoration of your choice.

How to make the Christmas wreath

Attach the chocolates to the ribbon at 7.5 cm intervals. Tie the top of the ribbon to the top of the coat hanger and then wind the ribbon around the wire coat hanger. Don’t make the ribbon lengths to long or it will tangle when you wind it. When you reach the end of the first piece of ribbon, tie on the next length, until you have wound the ribbon and chocolates all around the circular wire hanger.

Next, Attach the end of the tinsel to the top of the coat hanger and wind it around the circle, weaving it between the sweets so that they stick out all around. I used a piece of ribbon to tie the tinsel securely to the top of the hanger. I used another piece of tinsel to attach a pretty Christmas decoration to the wreath, hanging down from top of the hanger.

The Christmas wreaths came out really well.

These two are mine:

This one is Michael’s:

IMG_4820

He chose his own colour scheme and a little hedgehog decoration for the middle. Michael told me his wreath is for his Great-grandmother [aged 96 years] as he wants her to be happy on Christmas day. Isn’t he just the sweetest boy?

***

53 thoughts on “How to make a Christmas wreath using chocolates and tinsel

  1. These look lovely, Robbie, and have the added bonus of some sweets too!
    Your Micahel is such a thoughtful boy, how lovely that he wants to make his great-Grandmother happy at Christmas, a lot of kids jusst think about themselves! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Actually that reminds me of the Canadian chef Ann Olson.. she would bake all these delicious pastries and cakes but you would never see her even taste on of them….I would have loved to have worked on her camera crew…. Just as well I didn’t!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Robbie, these are lovely and what an original idea..I love the thought of your festive house, creative in preparation for Christmas. Your post has put me in a Christmas mood…something the all too early shop decorations have failed. Reeves is an intergral part of our music for Christmas as well…Not long until first of advent, time for the candles and star to make an appearance.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My good friend’s mother made one of these every Christmas and hung it on their door. It was all peppermints and she had attached a pair of scissors so you could cut one off when you came over. Nice memory that you brought to mind for me. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Michael is the sweetest boy, thinking so kindly of his grandmother. The wreaths are beautiful, and such a fun thing to do with kids! Hmmm those chocolates, it would be tie one, eat one, tie one, eat one (in my family)….but it’s Christmas so it is all good 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I know. But I think some people keep the flame alive. There’s a store here called the Range and they have a whole crafting sections which is quite big so I assume that it must make money or they would remove it.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

