Book Lover’s Tag – for lovers of reading

Sally Cronin over at the delightful Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life tagged me in this Book Lover’s Tag Tour. You can read Sally’s own Book Lover’s Tag post here: https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/2017/09/09/book-lovers-tag-for-lovers-of-reading/?c=102457#comment-102457.

IMG_2770

Since Sir Chocolate and Silly Willy both love reading, how could we possibly resist such an enticing tag, especially during International Literacy Month.

Questions

Do you have a specific place for writing?

I write anyhow, any place and any time which means that I write when a passenger travelling in a car, on a bus or by aeroplane. I write while waiting for my boys to do their activities and early in the morning. Often something pops into my head while driving and then I scribble it down when I arrive at my destination. Who needs a specific place when one has a laptop and a notebook.

Book mark or random pieces of paper?

I must hide my head in shame here and admit that I am a page bender. My saving grace is that now I am reading ebooks, my ipad saves my place so I don’t have to bend it [wink!]

Can you stop anywhere or must it be at the end of a chapter?

I try to stop at the end of a chapter so that I don’t have to back track to pick up the feel of the story again. Life tends to happen though so it often doesn’t work out this way for me. I read a couple of books at a time because I am hyperactive and have a limited concentration span for one thought line. I also usually have a book or two on the go with Michael too.

Do you eat or drink whilst reading?

I sometimes drink tea or water. I never eat while reading; smeary marks are bad for the book.

Music or TV whilst reading?

No … these are both to distracting. If the TV is on in the background, I can block it out entirely. I can also block out requests for cool drinks and snacks from my boys whilst reading [tee hee!]

One book at a time or several

Several as I mentioned previously. These are the books I am currently reading – all of which are shaping up to be great!

Thomas the Rhymer (Jack Hughes Trilogy Book 1) by [Andruss, Paul]DOG BONE SOUP (Historical Fiction): A Boomer's Journey by [Stevens, Bette]Amanda in England: The Missing Novel by [Foster, Darlene]Rhymes of the Times: A lighthearted look at life through rhyme (Rhythm and Rhyme Book 1) by [Martin, Judy E]Product Details

I am also reading some research books for my WWII through the eyes of a child collection of short stories.

Do you prefer to read at home or elsewhere?

I read in the same way as I write; anyhow, any place and any time.

Read out loud or silently?

To myself, I read silently, but I do read a lot to my boys still and that is obviously aloud.

Do you read ahead or skip pages?

I certainly do skip pages and read ahead if the book is slow or the author goes on about irrelevant stuff. I skipped over a lot of the third book of Lord of the Rings and also the seventh and final book of Harry Potter [so there! – they dragged].

Break the spine or keep it new?

I try and keep my books in good condition as I collect books and have over 3 000 at home.

Do you write in your books?

Only in research or non-fiction books. I sometimes add interpretations and notes in the margins.

What books have you read recently?

I have read some really amazing Indie books. I love Indie books as the authors don’t write to a [very obvious] formula. Some of my recent favourites are as follows:

Product DetailsProduct DetailsProduct Details Will O' the Wisp by [Boyack, C. S.]Product DetailsProduct Details        

Poetic RITUals by [Bhathal, Ritu]

All time favourite book?

That is too hard. I can’t choose one. I have put the three books that have influenced my life the most.

Product DetailsProduct DetailsProduct Details

My nominations for the Book Lover’s Tag are:

Ritu Bhathal – Poet and author

Judy E Martin – Poet and author

Sojourner McConnell – Author

If you want to join in, please answer the above questions, link back to this page an then tag three new book lovers.

Have fun!

Robbie

Robbie and Michael Cheadle are the co-authors of the Sir Chocolate Book series and Robbie Cheadle is the author of Silly Willy goes to Cape Town

 

 

 

 

54 thoughts on “Book Lover’s Tag – for lovers of reading

  1. Such an interesting post, I love to read what other people are reading and what inspires them. I’m an avid reader myself and totally get lost in my books, usually memoir, travel or history but also some historical fiction or literature….. such a joy reading is! 🙂 Glad I came across your post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do still read a fair bit to Michael, Jennie. Greg often pops in to listen too. Michael has a processing problem so it helps keep the flow of a book going if he reads one page and I read one. We also make progress much quicker and it boosts his confidence.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I must pop right over and read yours, Brigid. You have know idea how much I have had to do this weekend! I am interested to know what you think of Thomas the Rhymer. I am finding it most intriguing so far but I would expect nothing less from Paul.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Robbie, I am so impressed with you, and reading multiples of books at a time my friend.. But like you once I am in a book or even into WP I am oblivious to the outside world.. I switch off as I am into another land of thought completely
    Wishing you well my friend and have a lovely new week
    Sue xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love reading, Sue, and I always have. I read multiple books because it is just easier for me that way and I also have a very intense concentration but for limited periods. I then switch to something else or another book. I hope you too have a lovely week and I hope to see posts from you.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s interesting Robbie. I appreciate your honest answers! I envy your potential of reading many books at a time. I can never switch over to another book till I finish the one I am reading and if I do, I usually drop that book, which happens only if it is too dark or drags along painfully. I could never fold the pages but I also skipped the pages of those books which write parallel stories but not possible with Kindle now. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh Robbie you have to see the movie Mr. Church if you haven’t already as it includes a sweet idea for a lending library like the one you created when you were a girl. Thanks for sharing more about your books with me in your comment 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

