#Carrotranch Flash Fiction Challenge – escape artist

I think that I have always sought an escape from my reality. Not because my reality was bad, it just could be better. By reading books, creating art and playing with dolls I could experience so much more, travel to different places, meet new people, build fantastic houses and design new fashions.

I have always loved these things and my three sisters will remember some of the weird and wonderful ideas I had and shared with them [read as forced them to join in – smile].

Christmas time was very exciting to me and it was a time when I put my best creative foot forward. We made various gifts for our Mother over the years such as a book of stories and collages with all sorts of sweets and chocolates designed into the artwork, a small Christmas tree that I procured one year and which we hung with a collection of chocolate and homemade Christmas decorations and cardboard boxes cut and painted to represent the Three Kings and then filled with sweets. Every Easter time I would coerce the girls into making and decorating Easter baskets which we filled with cotton wool and bought Easter eggs. Every Spring and Autumn I would design and make, on my Mother’s old sewing machine, new outfits for our army of Barbie dolls. What lovely memories these are.

Charli Mills challenge to come up with a piece of flash fiction, in exactly 99 words, that demonstrated our take on “escape artist” brought back to me my very favourite dolls of all. You can join in the challenge here: https://carrotranch.com/2017/08/25/august-24-flash-fiction-challenge-2/

IMG_2831

The rag doll

There was once a rag doll called Mary-Lou. Mary-Lou had three sisters to play with, Sally-Anne, Mary-Jane and Beth. The four dolls had been hand made by an elderly woman whose husband had died young and whose daughter had become seriously ill. The old woman made the dolls because they brought her in some much needed money. Creating them also make her feel very happy as she designed their pretty faces, floral dresses and frilly aprons. She gave each doll a name and a personality. In her mind they were all very pleasant and never had arguments or shouted.

Robbie and Michael Cheadle are the co-authors of the Sir Chocolate Book series and Robbie Cheadle is the author of Silly Willy goes to Cape Town

52 thoughts on “#Carrotranch Flash Fiction Challenge – escape artist

  1. Wonderful dolls & a charming story. I guess these three charming ladies has some nice English 5 o’clock tea and read ‘Alice in Wonderland’. I’ve heard of a Duc of the past who used to have an owl. Her name was Marie-Lou too. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Yes, Robbie. I can tell and can visualize you and you sister running around, paying, giggling, creating thing. It was wonderful and it made your creativity now into your writing. Thank you for sharing.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. You and I sound fairly similar with our reading, Tandy. By the time I was ten I had read every children’s book in our [quite extensive] local library and was reading adults books behind the couch as it was frowned on in our Catholic society.

      Like

Leave a Reply

