#Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie – A change of routine – a poem

This freestyle poem was written for Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Saturday Mix with the prompt word of routine. You can join in the challenge here: https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2017/08/05/saturdays-mix-5-august-2017/

DSCN1604

A change of routine

I have always

idolised routine,

Time

carved up neatly

into regimented slots,

Allotted times to eat,

A drink after 5pm,

Read before bed,

Write in the morning,

Each and every activity

carefully fitted in,

By me

the captain of my destiny,

A slave to the clock,

And yet,

I can still create,

Fondant art abounds,

Poetry pours forth,

Stories come together,

So what,

Will I create

with a change in routine?

***

By Robbie Cheadle

Robbie and Michael Cheadle are the co-authors of the Sir Chocolate Book series and Robbie Cheadle is the author of Silly Willy goes to Cape Town

 

51 thoughts on “#Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie – A change of routine – a poem

    1. Thank you, Judy. I am sure that with the change I am implementing, I will still be a slave to routine. I will just be able to do some new things like add Pintrest and YouTube. I am going to take a six month sabbatical and write full time for a while.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. That is a wonderful poem in tribute to routine.. I think now I am retired I so enjoy not having a routine anymore.. I no longer wear a watch.. and haven’t in the last three years..
    Being able to get up and choose just what I want, when I want.. is a massive relief from one that was always dominated by the demands of others..
    🙂 And that cake decoration Robbie is fantastic..
    ❤ xxxx Hugs Sue

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

