Can you see the butterflies? – a poem

IMG_1118

Can you see the butterflies?

Bright splashes of vibrancy

daubs of colour

against an azure sky.

***

Can you see the butterflies?

On near transparent wings

they flutter and fly

deliciously light on the breeze.

***

Can you see the butterflies?

A cloud of beauty

acting as one

a gossamer pool of delight.

***

I can see the butterflies

Through half closed eyes

My dreams form shapes

with fluttering wings.

***

I can see the butterflies

As they develop in my mind

Elusive thoughts grow wings

and they fly.

By Robbie Cheadle

Robbie and Michael Cheadle are the co-authors of the Sir Chocolate Book series and Robbie Cheadle is the author of Silly Willy goes to Cape Town

 

57 thoughts on “Can you see the butterflies? – a poem

  1. Loved the final stanza, Robbie. What a beautiful metaphor for creativity. And your fondant butterflies are lovely. Thanks so much for sharing this.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
    ADD/EFD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Even if butterflies weren’t one of my favourite things, I’d love your poem and the images created. It’s delightful Robbie. I love the way butterflies symbolise emerging thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Norah. I always think that butterflies are just like thoughts with all their different colours. I took my sons to a venue called Butterfly World in Cape Town and I have never seen so many beautiful butterflies and moths.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love butterflies because they are a symbol of transformation, constantly telling us that change is possible. We definitely need their gentle message in our world today. You have captured them well,

    Elizabeth

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

