#Carrotranch – prompt word crystalline

Regular readers of my blog will have realised that I like to collect things. My interests range from antique books and porcelain dolls, to beaded animals, African art, children’s books and rag dolls. You didn’t know, however, that I also like rocks, fossils and shells.

IMG_2634

Pyrite sun

Pyrite Suns are found in coal mines, near Sparta, Illinois (USA) at the 300-foot level in a very narrow seam laying on top of the coal. Miners in four mines bring them out in their lunch buckets, thus preserving what would otherwise be destroyed. Surrounded by black slate, a very difficult cleaning process unveils their hidden natural beauty. Dating in age to 350 million years old, one of the present theories of origin is a pyritized fossil replacement. Their natural beauty and shape makes them perfect for a variety of uses such as clock faces and jewellery. Quote from African Gems and Minerals

IMG_2636

99-word prompt

Charli Mills from Carrot Ranch has challenged us to write about crystalline in exactly 99 words. Here is my little attempt:

The elderly vendor, his small stall heaped with colourful rocks of all shapes and sizes, smiled. He was delighted by the boys interest in his wares and was happy to let them examine the rocks they showed interest in. Willy liked the crystalline formations. Craig, of course, was always fascinated by the unusual and he was entranced by the Pyrite Sun. He held it up and it glinted in the sunlight. Mom looked on with pleasure. She knew that this would result in her having to buy both boys the rock of their choice but their enthusiasm pleased her.

Robbie and Michael Cheadle are the co-authors of the Sir Chocolate Book series and Robbie Cheadle is the author of Silly Willy goes to Cape Town

55 thoughts on “#Carrotranch – prompt word crystalline

      1. Agreed. My friend’s grandson is fascinated by mine. Every time he comes over, he asks to take it home. I remind him that he can enjoy it whenever he visits. When the time is right, I shall gift him one of his very own. I am allowing the pyrite to guide me as to when that shall be.

        Liked by 2 people

  1. When I was a child, we had a truckload of dredged river rock delivered to make a driveway. Needless to say, my siblings and I spent hours exploring the wonderful assortment of rocks that had washed down into the river.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How interesting to learn about the Pyrite Suns! It’s true that in most mining operations there’s a plethora of other minerals that are beautiful or unusual, but simply have no value like what is being mined. I love this flash and how the mom honors her boys’ enthusiasm.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Thank you, Kim. Boys seem to really love rocks and minerals. Michael has a collection of semi-precious stones and he loves them. Greg, my little mystery boy, is the one who collects the very unusual rocks and even interesting shaped pebbles off the beach.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so pleased you joined in with the challenge, Robbie, and shared some rocks from your collection. These are both beautiful, and I appreciate the information you shared. You did well with your story, and it’s nice to see Willy in there. I think the story may have a little BOTS in it? A proud encouraging Mum.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I’ve never heard of Pyrite Sun. Illinois is close to the craton of North America (the oldest part) so it makes sense such old rocks would be there. Doesn’t Australia have the oldest rocks on the planet? Hmm…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. These rocks are quite famous, Jacqui. Now that you know about them I’ll bet you come across one. I didn’t know Australia had the oldest rocks in the world. I have a stone age rock tool and a piece of meteorite in my collection and these are very old.

      Like

  5. I, too, am drawn to “pretty rocks,” Robbie, especially crystals. I have quite a few quartz crystals from large to smallish, and a crystal ball (not a glass one – made of quartz with some fascinating formations “floating” in the clear quarts inside the orb — great for meditation).

    I also have small pyrite “mountain,” but I was unaware of Pyrite Suns. Thanks for the info in your intro.

    Your response to the prompt was terrific – once of my favorite pieces of writing on your site.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
    ADD/EFD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

