I promise – A poem

20160221_171929 (2)

Words, like small pebbles, drop into my resting mind;

Her own needs and desires make her emotionally blind;

No consideration for others, or ability to wait, it would seem;

It’s like a physical assault, as I try and shake off my dream.

 

It feels so utterly selfish, it makes me completely irate;

I react negatively to her questions, which winds her up into a state;

Annoyance boils up inside me, makes my stomach churn;

I always end up capitulating, so why then, don’t I learn.

 

Her bright and agile mind is really most deceiving;

Results in a lack of understanding and others not believing;

If it was obvious, this incapacity showing on the outside;

The gulf between experiences, mine and theirs, wouldn’t be so wide.

 

As the source of stress nears, the questioning intensifies;

This is the self-calming technique, on which she most relies;

It is also the most invasive, and causes the most tension;

I confirm that I promise and try to limit any further extension.

 

A relaxed and happy home, I have heard of such a place;

A desire so strong, it is one I can almost taste;

As she starts along the uphill path of her adult years;

I feel my own will be fraught with concern and tears.

By Robbie Cheadle

Robbie and Michael Cheadle are the co-authors of the Sir Chocolate Book series and Robbie Cheadle is the author of Silly Willy goes to Cape Town

 

74 thoughts on “I promise – A poem

  1. An intriguing and disturbing poem that left me wondering if it reflects something in your life or if it’s a work of imagination? It seems so oblique but at the same time the precise details hint at a back story. Either way, well done Robbie.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Robbie, I had to re-read it to understand the undertones, so conspicuously trying to emerge stronger! Probably I was looking for the usual lighter version…this one is showing you could handle all the themes so well! Beautifully articulated emotions! I could feel inside my heart too as we all go through this phase. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautifully penned, Robie. Your poem will touch many, for we all have lived through troubled times. I also love the imagery, it’s perfect for the poem.
    Sorry, this is late in the posting, I am going through a disturbing time, but, I am trying to catch up. I save the good stuff. Hugs. ☺☺

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

