Buttermilk rusks – a South Africa treat

After months of writing, editing and making and photographing fondant illustrations, Silly Willy Goes to Cape Town is finally available on both Amazon and TLS Publications.

I wrote a couple of posts about the beautiful city of Cape Town to help promote this new book. You can find these posts here:

https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/2017/07/21/smorgasbord-guest-post-traditional-foods-you-can-eat-in-cape-town/; and

Guest author: Robbie Cheadle – Table Mountain Cape Town

The traditional foods you can eat in Cape Town post prompted some interest in rusks. A rusk is a hard, dry biscuit or double-baked bread a bit like an Italian biscotti only much bigger.

As a result of the interest shown, Michael and I decided to make buttermilk rusks for the week and this is how we made them:

IMG_2569

Ingredients

1 kg of self raising flour;

500 ml of buttermilk;

5ml (1 teaspoon) of salt;

2 large eggs;

200 ml white sugar;

190 grams of melted butter.

Method

Beat the eggs, sugar and buttermilk together using an electric mixer or handheld beater. Sift the flour and the salt together. Cut the egg mixture into the dry mixture using a round bladed knife. Gradually add the butter and knead it into the dough. This should take about 5 minutes. The mixture will go from being greasy to being nice and smooth and combined. Put the dough into two greased loaf baking tins and bake them in the over at 180 degrees Celsius for 50 to 60 minutes until a cake tester comes out clean. Let the loaves cool slightly and turn them out onto a bread board. Slice the loaves into long oblongs. Lay the oblongs on trays and bake them in the oven at 100 degrees Celsius for four hours, turning them every 45 minutes or so. Cool on a wire rack and store in an airtight container. Rusks will keep for up to three months.

Robbie and Michael Cheadle are the co-authors of the Sir Chocolate Book series and Robbie Cheadle is the author of Silly Willy goes to Cape Town

 

48 thoughts on “Buttermilk rusks – a South Africa treat

  1. Congratulations!!! dear Robbie, so pleased all that hard work of editing is done.. And my children loved rusks as young children, never made any though always bought them.. And I would often take one to eat too lol 🙂

    So thank you for the recipe,, Wishing you well.. and well done Michael. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Which is why I feel I keep putting off writing a book.. I have one half completed.. a story.. And who knows one day the ending may come.. Lol.. I am so pleased it has at last all come together for you xxx ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I would definitely encourage you to finish your story, Sue, and to get it published. I think it would be wonderful and lots of people would benefit from your inspirational type of writing.

        Like

    1. Thanks Kim, don’t your sons know anyone who likes to tinker with electrical stuff? My computer overheated on Saturday and stopped working – I nearly freaked out because I am not good about backing up. Luckily Terence got it going again and I have saved everything. I would feel the same about my oven.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi Robbie. My older son, Bradley, left for England on Thursday to go and stay with his dad for a few months and to get some computer stuff which you can’t buy here. My younger son is not at all technical or electrical and I don’t know anyone who is. The oven has been fixed before but keeps on breaking down and the door does not fit properly and the oven temperature doesn’t get high enough. Basically I need a new oven. But I am enjoying reading your lovely recipes and looking at the photos of things you make.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

