Guest author: Robbie Cheadle – Table Mountain Cape Town

Silly Willy and Cautious Craig visited England today and popped in to tell Sue Vincent from Sue Vincent’s Daily Echo all about Table Mountain and the lovely Protea flowers that grow there. Thank you so much, Sue, for having this naughty pair over for a visit.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

If I think of wonderful Cape Town, I think first of Table Mountain. This mountain is such a landmark and a most incredible natural phenomenon.

Some of you may have picked up the fact that I am slightly prone to obsessions. These have changed over the course of my life and have included exercising, mothering, baking and blogging. When I first met Mr Fox twenty years ago [when I was young and full of energy and he still had hair!], I was going through my mad exercising phase. Our first holiday together was to Cape Town and, of course, I had to get my daily fix. My plan – to walk up Table Mountain. Not once but twice; once up the front of the mountain and once up the back of the mountain.

Our first walk was up the front of Table Mountain. It was an incredible experience…

View original post 930 more words

30 thoughts on “Guest author: Robbie Cheadle – Table Mountain Cape Town

    1. I have done five or six hikes up the front and back of Table Mountain and I loved it but we all experience nature in our own way. Going to Kirstenbosch for a stroll in the beautiful gardens or going up the mountain in the cable car is also wonderful.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Wonderful post, Robbie. I left you a longer comment under the post on Sue’s site. I miss out on hiking since I am so heat-defensive, so it is fun reading about it in posts like yours. Thanks.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
    ADD/EFD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I have never heard of this allergy before, Robbie. Thank goodness I don’t have to deal with that one – and I am so sorry that you do!

        My allergies are confined to grass, certain plants (hay-feverish), most dogs and all cats. I can usually work around them with allergy pills when I cannot limit my exposure. I’m not allergic to Shih Tzus, thank goodness (hair not fur, and non-shedding), because TinkerToy is the light of my life.

        Summer is tough because somebody is almost always mowing their lawn, blowing allergens everywhere. I often wish that everybody would confine their mowing to ONE day of the week so I could avoid it altogether, but I spend much of the summer inside in the AC, being extremely heat defensive, so even that is somewhat manageable without living on pills every summer.

        I don’t think I have any topical allergies (except to bug bites – lol). Cortisone cream dotted on each takes care of that handily. I can’t imagine having a rash all over my body! Thank goodness there is a preventative you can take.
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I do know a few other people with this kind of allergy, Madelyn. The one chap is much more allergic than me and it affects his breathing. I am just glad I have learned how to deal with it so it is manageable. You seem to manage your allergies as well. My niece is also allergic to grass.

        Like

Leave a Reply

