Glitter Shimmerling meets the Hamstah Dudes

 

 

IMG_2512

By way of context, Teagan Geneviene of Teagan’s Books is currently writing a really fun series of posts where each blogger discovers their fairy name and she writes your fairy character into a weekly story. My fairy name is Glitter Shimmerling and I liked this idea so much I decided to write my own post about my own fairy character and create her out of fondant too. You can visit Teagan’s entertaining blog and learn more about this great idea here: https://teagansbooks.com/2017/07/01/come-out-to-play-thistledown/.

This week, Michael and I also travelled to Scotland to be interviewed by the Hamstah Dude’s in their gingerbread house over at Shehanne Moore’s delightful blog. You can read the interview here which sets the background for this poetic response here: https://shehannemoore.wordpress.com/2017/07/13/half-guests-will-travel-interview-with-robbie-cheadle/.

Glitter Shimmerling meets the Hamstah Dudes

Fairy Glitter Shimmerling,

had a “Bake and Write” blog,

the maintenance of which,

was a fun and exciting job.

***

On her blog she taught,

others how to bake,

her cakes were delicious,

make no mistake.

***

For each and every post,

she attempted a new creation,

her rose covered chocolate cake,

created quite a sensation.

***

IMG_2494

One afternoon the Hamstah’s,

came over to play,

they like it so much,

they decided to stay.

***

The Hamstah’s and Glitter,

became very good chums,

you could tell they were enjoying it,

from the trail of crumbs.

***

IMG_2518

There were a few mishaps,

Sir Chocolate was nearly eaten,

The perpetrator was caught in time,

and his naughty urge beaten.

***

IMG_1040

The blog’s protective cats,

were out for the day,

when they heard the news,

They rushed back without delay.

***

The kittens investigated,

with great precision,

and based on the evidence,

made their decision.

***

The two clever cats,

and the Hamstah’s became mates,

together they nibbled,

every treat on the plates.

***

IMG_2524

You can learn how to make our rich chocolate cake here:

Our step-by-step instructions to make the fondant roses featured on the cake above are below:

how-to-make-a-small-rose-out-of-fondant-tutorial

Last but not least Part 2 of my new Dolls of Africa series will be posted on Tuesday morning and not today. This post took me some time to put together [smile].

Robbie and Michael Cheadle are the co-authors of the Sir Chocolate Book series and Robbie Cheadle is the author of Silly Willy goes to Cape Town (coming soon)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

87 thoughts on “Glitter Shimmerling meets the Hamstah Dudes

    1. Thank you, Frank, it figure is shimmering as I dusted it with edible pearl lustre powder. I thought it fitted the name. I like your names and hope to see your character soon. Thank you so much for your review of Sir Choc and the sugar dough bees. I was so delighted to see it today.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    Before I close down for the day… a post with some verse from Robbie Cheadle.. Shehanne Moore’s Hamstahs came for a visit… and cakes were made.. However, Sir Chocolate had a lucky escape.. there is a great video of Robbie making cupcakes and demonstration on how to make fondant roses. Do love ending the weekend on a sweet note.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love that you went to Scotland! I’ve only dreamt of such places. Love that you are “Glitter Shimmerling.” Your characters are so fun. Can’t wait to watch your video to see how you do it. Hope you have a great day.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. From the poem to the cake making, there is much to love here, Robbie. I adore how you were inspired by Teagan’s story to create your faery from fondant and how Shey’s hamstah dudes are included too. A lovely array of goodness xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dear Robbie, if I’ve given you any inspiration at all, I’m thrilled. Your Glitter Shimmerling is adorable. I hope you’ll let me use her photo when she comes into the story.
    Your poetic tale is lovely. I’m smiling ear to ear.
    Mega hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Have saved the recipe. I’m going to try baking it with gluten free flour I hope it turns out okay. Love that you are using cups and spoons, my mum baked this way and I find European metric measures confusing. Will let you know how the cake goes, thank you, Robbie. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Adele, I am most interested to hear and see how this cake works out gluten free. I have also been thinking of experimenting with rice flour with some of my recipes. Thank you for reading and commenting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

