The future – A guest post by Craig Boyack

Today Michael and I are delighted to be hosting amazing author and blogger Craig Boyack here at robbiesinspiration. Michael and I are busy reading Will ‘o Wisp by Craig Boyack and we are thoroughly enjoying it. Read on to learn all about Craig’s new book The Enhanced League and his plans for his writing future.

Take it away, Craig

Thanks for having me over today, Robbie. There are several reasons to go on a blog tour, but this one is because of my new release, The Enhanced League. It’s a collection of short stories, but unlike my previous collections, this one tells an overarching story.

It’s the tale of a professional baseball league where anything goes. No drug testing, no arbitrary public persona rules, and much more flash. I like to think of it as the pro-wrestling version of baseball. There are some sports type stories, but there are more human interest stories revolving around baseball. You can check it out for the incredible price of 99¢ on Amazon.

I keep a list of topics for blog tours, and this is one I haven’t used in a while: What does the future hold?

I intend to keep writing. I found writing as an affordable hobby years ago during one of our major winter storms. It’s something I know I’ll be doing for the rest of my life.

In the immediate future, I also have a novel coming soon called The Yak Guy Project. It’s the story of a young man with no prospects and little motivation to improve his lot in life. Circumstances place him on an alternate world where he must change his ways. I used the Major Arcana of the Tarot as a plot tool on this one, and I think it came out well.

I was also invited to participate in an anthology called Quantum Wanderlust. It’s a book with multiple authors, each exploring their spin on time travel. That will be coming out soon too.

I have so many writing plans that it’s hard to focus somedays. I intend to write two stories with a target length of novella size. I’m convinced that modern people enjoy shorter works, and want to explore that length. One will be a science fiction based tale called Estivation, the other is a paranormal superhero tale called The Hat. I’m a firm believer that all stories will be as long as they need. I’d like to release them both as novellas, but if they require more substance they may become novels.

Two years ago, I spent the entire summer partially outlining four novels. One of those became The Yak Guy Project. The others have merit too, and I intend to write a science fiction story called Grinders. It is about those crazy people you see on the news occasionally who perform basement surgical enhancements on themselves and each other. Of course I’ll be pushing that concept to a ridiculous extreme, because that makes the story more fun.

The remaining outlines are still there. I’m losing a bit of passion for one, and it seems to be morphing into something else. This isn’t a bad thing, since I am talking a year down the road at best.

The other one is a period piece set in colonial Africa, and may involve a bit of romance. Of course it’s one of my stories, so it could involve some witch doctors and magic too. I still like it, but the world is so PC I’m shying away from it. I can’t see adventurous young people going into the bush back then without a bit of subsistence or even sport hunting involved.

Let’s recap:

Pick up The Enhanced League for 99¢ and have some baseball themed fun

Watch for the time travel anthology, Quantum Wanderlust

Watch for The Yak Guy Project, coming soon to a Kindle near you

I promise to keep writing, be it short stories, novellas, or novels.

The Enhanced League

The enhanced league

 

Blurb: The Enhanced league is a collection of short stories and anthems centered around a year in a fictional baseball league. It has a slight science fiction background. This league has a lot more pomp than you might be used to, and nobody seems to care if the players use performance enhancing drugs.

Stories involve existing heroes, up and comers, and falling stars. While there are the obvious stories that take place on the field of play, there are also human interest stories that take place around the baseball gyrations. These stories involve scouting, trades, ruthless business decisions, and even relationships.

I enjoyed researching and bringing you The Enhanced League, and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. — CB

Purchase The Enhanced League

You can purchase The Enhanced League here: http://a-fwd.com/asin-com=B073T5DH2Q

About Craig Boyack

Craig Boyack

I was born in a town called Elko, Nevada. I like to tell everyone I was born in a small town in the 1940s. I’m not quite that old, but Elko has always been a little behind the times. This gives me a unique perspective of earlier times, and other ways of getting by. Some of this bleeds through into my fiction.

I moved to Idaho right after the turn of the century, and never looked back. My writing career was born here, with access to other writers and critique groups I jumped in with both feet.

I like to write about things that have something unusual. My works are in the realm of science fiction, paranormal, and fantasy. The goal is to entertain you for a few hours. I hope you enjoy the ride.

Craig

Other books by Craig Boyack

Macabre SanctuaryThe Experimental Notebook of C. S. Boyack by [Boyack, C. S.]The PlaygroundThe Experimental Notebook of C. S. Boyack IIWill O' the WispPanamaThe Cock of the SouthWild ConceptArson

Follow Craig Boyack

http://coldhandboyack.wordpress.com/

http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00ILXBXUY

https://mobile.twitter.com/Virgilante

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/9841203.C_S_Boyack

https://www.facebook.com/ColdhandBoyack

62 thoughts on “The future – A guest post by Craig Boyack

  1. Thanks for hosting me today. That’s a wonderful collage of my book covers.

    How did you make that Pinterest graphic? It’s kind of cool and I wonder if it can be manipulated to a specific board somehow. I have one about my books and it would be a good trick to figure out.

    I have a Pinterest board for both Estivation and The Hat started. Maybe they’ll make some folks curious.

    Enjoy Will O’ the Wisp, it’s one of my favorites.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for sharing the post. I like to have plans moving forward. Not all of them will bear fruit, some might change dramatically along the way, but I also don’t get writer’s block in the traditional sense. What blocks me is the need to do other parts of the business.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Robbie, I for one am awestruck by all that you do already! Don’t make me feel worse by accomplishing even more… or I’ll suspect you never sleep!! EVER!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, you are super busy, Craig. I read and reviewed The Enhanced League and loved it. I look forward to Quantum Wanderlust and The Yak Guy Project. My tastes have always leaned toward the odd and unusual, so all of these are right up my alley. Nice to see you here on Robbie’s blog!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I think the modern mind prefers something a bit shorter. Hardcore readers might appreciate a series even, but 30,000 words might have some appeal to those who are stressed for time. They’re both pretty good ideas too, so I’m excited about it.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

