Look what I found – two awesome reviews of Sir Chocolate and the Baby Cookie Monster Story and Cookbook

dscn1153The other day when I popped into Goodreads I found two lovely reviews of Sir Chocolate and the Baby Cookie Monster.

4 Star review by Robyn from the blithering bibliomaniacs

The Book
When a baby cookie monster gets lost and eats the fences of houses in his street, Sir Chocolate ventures out to find the baby’s mom. Lady Sweet tags along and before long they’re on a sweet adventure unlike any I’d be able to imagine.

My Thoughts
Thank you to Robbie Cheadle for providing me with an electronic copy of Sir Chocolate and the Baby Cookie Monster to provide an honest review for. This is not my usual ‘type’ of read – it is a kids book AND a recipe book. Now, I’m no kid, no matter how much I may wish I were, and I am useless in the kitchen (we’d starve if it weren’t for my husband). So for this review I dragged my kids into the picture.

I did attempt a Q&A with them after we’d completed it, but they really weren’t interested in answering my questions. Instead they wanted to know more about the book! As we reread it together they threw a comment here, or asked a question there.
My boy, 3 years old, was absolutely obsessed with the little car and the baby cookie monster. He insisted I take him for a ride so that he could give the cookie monster a biscuit. I’ve yet to determine whether he was referring to a ride in my car or the one in the book.

My daughter, 6 years old, immediately identified all the recipes – interesting as I don’t really own any recipe books, so how she knew what it was is beyond me, but she pointed at each one asking me what it made and insisting on me telling her when exactly we’d be making them.

When I asked them what they liked the most about the book I was surprised to be met with a resounding “It’s nice, please can we read it tomorrow too”. Usually they don’t agree on anything! Of course I was hoping for a slightly more informative answer, but I wasn’t going to get it – they were figuring out how to scroll through the pages again.

As a parent, I’ve battled to read one story to two kids. They get irritable, their gaze wanders off of the book to more interesting things outside the window. My best is when they both want to read a story, but can’t agree on which one, generally ending in something very close to WW3 in my home. Not this time.

The moment I started to read they calmed down and listened – maybe it had something to do with the colours used in the book. Not your standard white pages, but an alternating gradient of yellow and green. Maybe it was the poetry used to tell the story, instead of the more traditional paragraph after paragraph of words. The rhythm created by the words was wonderful. Illustrations of baked goods complementing the story as it progressed was probably the biggest draw factor, my girl couldn’t believe it when I told her that there are people who can make things out of cake and sweet stuff, she said she wanted to learn how to make a bird, but I’ve managed to scale it down to making coconut ice grass.

Above all else, this book provided me the opportunity to explain to our youngest that there is a thing called “getting lost”. Now I don’t make a habit of turning books read for pleasure into lectures, but when you’re little terror asks if the Mommy was scared, and if the baby cried – well seize the moment I say.

Creative, captivating and absolutely adorable this is a must read for all parents, and an absolute definite for those of us with budding chefs or bakers.

4 Star review by Tango with Text

I was given a copy of this delightful little book to read and review.

Such fun to be had reading about Sir Chocolate’s adventure with the baby cookie monster roaming free in his village! The rhyming nature of the story makes it easy to read and the inclusion of the handmade characters and scenery makes it eye-catching. I love the inclusion of the simple recipes to enable the reader to bring the characters to life – with or without the help of little hands!

A lovely presentation by Robbie and Michael Cheadle – recommended for younger readers, or those who want to add simple sweet recipes to their collection.

www.tangowithtext.com

About Sir Chocolate and the Baby Cookie Monster Story and Cookbook

Book 2: Sir Chocolate and the baby cookie monster story and cookbook is available from TSL Publications (http://tslbooks.uk/authors/robbie-and-michael-cheadle/), Lulu.com and Amazon (https://www.amazon.com/author/robbiecheadle).

Sir Chocolate and Lady Sweet find a lost baby cookie monster. Join them on an adventure to return the baby to its mother and learn how to make some of their delicious recipes at the same time.

7

Learn how to make the following fun and tasty recipes:

  • Coconut ice grass;
  • Chocolate chip biscuits;
  • Sir Chocolate cupcakes;
  • Chocolate butter icing; and
  • Easy sausage rolls.

Recipe videos can be found at:

http://tinyurl.com/j8vdkz6

or tslbooks.uk

(Edited by Gregory Cheadle)

The baking videos and tutorials on how to make the fantasy creatures and flowers featured in Book 2: Sir Chocolate and the baby cookie monster story and cookbook can be found on the Tutorials on Fondant Art and Baking Videos pages of robbiesinspiration.wordpress.com.

Robbie and Michael Cheadle are the co-authors of the Sir Chocolate Book series and Robbie Cheadle is the author of Silly Willy goes to Cape Town (coming soon)

 

57 thoughts on “Look what I found – two awesome reviews of Sir Chocolate and the Baby Cookie Monster Story and Cookbook

  1. Congratulations on two great reviews. I just had my grandchild for the night. She’s only six months old now, but before you know it, she’ll be asking her Grandpop to read to her. Your books look like the perfect thing for a man and his granddaughter.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. WOW, Robbie – that first review is absolutely fabulous, especially from a woman who doesn’t cook! Hang onto it and repost closer to the holidays, when parents and grandparents are looking for gifts for young children. This is a “kid-approved” rave! Much deserved kudos, since these books are so uniquely creative.

    Sorry it is taking me forever to get around to reading (and to replying to your email, etc.). Life stuff – but it won’t last forever, and I have not forgotten.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
    ADD/EFD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Madelyn, thank you for your comments on the review. I was very thrilled to see them both and it is really wonderful to know that children what to re-read your book. A huge compliment. I do understand about how hard it is to fit everything in. That is why I said in my email that there is no pressure. I am in my busiest period of the year now until the end of October so I am struggling too.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

