Colleen’s Weekly Poetry Challenge – Art and music

I love music but I never had the opportunity to learn to play an instrument. Happily, both my boys are musical and both of them are having music lessons. Mini-Me plays the piano. Fairly well I might add, he is doing his Grade 5 piano exams this year. Mini-T is learning to play the drums. What! You may exclaim in horror; well noise has never bothered me.

Here is my contribution to Colleen’s Weekly Poetry Challenge.

It is a great art,

To create beautiful music,

On a piano.

20160228_073955

Greg’s birthday cake when he turned twelve.

Robbie and Michael Cheadle are the co-authors of the Sir Chocolate Book series and Robbie Cheadle is the author of Silly Willy goes to Cape Town (coming soon)

 

41 thoughts on “Colleen’s Weekly Poetry Challenge – Art and music

  1. I was in a singing performance in a traditional church. It had some video announcement prior to the performance. I caught one line saying, “Music is the only fact that requires one to use the left and right brain.” Yes, it requires an understanding of the music theory, and need to know how to count beats… Good that your son is taking Grade 5 piano. I took Grade 5 in music theory and Grade 8 in voice (singing). The birthday cake is so yummy!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Grade 5 theory is hard. I passed it, but when I look at it again, I forgot what how they work because I didn’t need to keep up in singing, but playing piano will have to keep up with the theory! I’m sure your son will pass the exam!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this, Robbie. I tweeted “chocolate is music to my ears!” Congrats on having musical children! My whole family is musical. Mom never taught me anything about music but taught both my daughters how to read music. I managed to learn to sing (sung in church choirs, worship teams, ensembles, solos, etc). I still can’t read music 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

