Sue Vincent’s Thursday photo prompt – #writephoto – Flight

I wrote this poem for Sue Vincent’s Thursday photo prompt. I am a bit late but better late than never. The link to this weeks prompt is https://scvincent.com/2017/07/06/thursday-photo-prompt-peace-writephoto/

b

I look out of the window,

And what do I see?

A red tiled roof,

With its own chimney.

 

It is the same,

For each house in the street,

Which is lined with cars,

And looks clean and neat.

 

I reminds me of a film,

I saw as a child,

Mary Poppins on the roof,

Looking dapper and mild.

 

The chimney sweeps dance,

With abandonment and joy,

Mary joins with her charges,

A young girl and a boy.

 

And then there’s the book,

About a young chimney sweep,

Who changes his life,

With one giant, scary leap.

 

He turns into a merman,

becomes part of the river’s life,

An exciting escape,

From his daily drudgery and strife.

 

The chimney’s of England,

Help my imagination fly,

My thoughts gather and cluster,

And soar to the clouds in the sky.

 

Robbie and Michael Cheadle are the co-authors of the Sir Chocolate Book series and Robbie Cheadle is the author of Silly Willy goes to Cape Town (coming soon)

 

45 thoughts on “Sue Vincent’s Thursday photo prompt – #writephoto – Flight

  1. That was a lovely poem Robbie that ‘fired’ the imagination 🙂 and brought back fond memories of going to see Mary Poppins with my Grandma and Granddad.. I was 10.. And thoroughly enjoyed.. Loved the rhythm of your poem.. And could see the chimney sweep dance.. 🙂
    Have a wonderful Sunday Robbie.. xxx ❤ Sue

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you Robbie.. Last weekend was a full on one.. As I arrange a garden party for my family.. as it was hubbies 70th.. and my daughters and Sons birthdays all each a week apart.. So we had a large family gathering.. .. This week I have been catching up in the allotments, and watching Tennis.. My favourite fortnight of the year on TV.. lol as I love watching Wimbledon.. 🙂 Plus I have knitting on the go.. 🙂 A garden post on both blogs I think is due.. 😀 And thank you for saying you enjoy them.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

