Orange sponge cake and chocolate cheesecake

We had no visitors this weekend. With everyone having been really sick this past week I decided that everyone needed to rest and take it easy. I am also determined that no new lurgies get introduced into my house until Michael is 100% better. So this weeks confectionary experiment was only for us and I decided to make a lovely golden orange sponge cake that I hadn’t made for a long time.

 

IMG_2335

Orange sponge cake

The cake came out perfectly, fluffy and light and I decorated it using sifted icing sugar and a cake stencil that my Sister-in-law gave me for my birthday.

Ingredients:

125 grams melted butter;

300 ml sugar;

4 eggs, separated;

5 ml orange zest;

375 ml self raising flour;

125 ml cornflour;

2 ml salt;

125 ml freshly squeezed orange juice.

Method:

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Prepare a spring bottom tin and line it with wax paper.

Melt the butter and beat it with the sugar. Beat in the egg yolks, one at a time. Add the orange zest. Sift the flour, cornflour and the salt and add them to the cake mixture in four parts, mixing in a quarter of the orange juice after each addition. Lastly, beat the egg whites until they are stiff and then fold them into the cake batter.

Pour the cake mixture into the cake tin and bake in the oven for approximately 50 minutes until a cake tester comes out clean.

Chocolate cheesecake

I promised that I would post this recipe for the chocolate cheesecake I made for Mr Fox’s birthday a while ago. I forgot so I am only doing it today. This recipe is very rich and decadent and is perfect for a special event.

IMG_2093

The base

Ingredients:

90 grams chopped butter;

80 ml almond flour;

80 ml castor sugar;

80 ml cake flour

Method:

Mix the almond flour, cake flour and castor sugar together. Mix in the butter using the tips of your fingers until it forms crumbs. Press the crumbs into the prepared spring bottom pan and bake for 20 minutes in the oven on 150 degrees Celsius.

Filling

Ingredients:

100 grams 70% dark chocolate;

400 grams cream cheese;

100 grams castor sugar;

150 ml sour cream

3 eggs, lightly beaten;

2 tablespoons cake flour;

2 tablespoons cocoa powder.

Method:

Melt the chocolate in a heatproof glass bowl over a pan of simmering water. Remove it form the heat and put it aside. In a separate bowl, beat the cream cheese and castor sugar until they are smooth. Beat in the egg mixture and the sour cream and then mix in the cooled melted chocolate. Sift in the flour and the cocoa power and stir them in.

Pour the mixture over the base and bake in the over for 45 minutes on 150 degrees Celsius. Switch off the oven and leave the cheesecake until it is completely cool with the door open.

Robbie and Michael Cheadle are the co-authors of the Sir Chocolate Book series and Robbie Cheadle is the author of Silly Willy goes to Cape Town (coming soon)

 

74 thoughts on “Orange sponge cake and chocolate cheesecake

  1. Ooooooh! I love love love sponge cakes! And you made it with orange as well. I can smell it from here! 😆 I’ll hv to try your version of using cirn flour; I’ve never use that before.

    There ‘s something about whisking then folding those egg whites and for me, that’s the best part! 😊😊😊

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hi Robbie. I hope Michael is much better. Both your cakes look devine. I have flu at the moment so all sugar is off the menu for me. As soon as I’m better I’ll try the cheesecake recipe. I made your tomato soup yesterday for dinner. It was really good and one of the few meals I have actually been able to taste for a while!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh they look yummy. That sponge cake is beautifully decorated. And I was wondering what ‘castor’ flour is? And if that base could be made gluten free by substituting the regular flour (and the castor flour if it’s not gluten free) with a glutenless flour?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Debby, I think you meant cornflour which is also called maizena or cornstarch. It is gluten free. I think you could substitute rice flour for the ordinary flour in this recipe and keep the maizena and then the cake would be gluten free. I think I will try that out actually.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

