Father’s day cherry cream “sick day” cake

This year most of the Cheadle family was sick for Fathers Day. Mr Fox, Mrs Fox and the two small Foxes all succumbed to various bugs. Fortunately, my parents have proved to be resilient thus far and are not sick. I pray it stays that way as it worries me to death when my mom is ill as she just goes from okay to extremely sick in one foul swoop.

Mr Fox has very bad sinus and I have something called the Rhino virus.

Robbiephotos-18I haven’t grown a horn or two but have just developed a death rattle cough which gradually turned itself into a chest infection as I ran around waiting on my three man babies over the course of the long weekend. So here I am on cortisone and an antibiotic SIGH!

Mini-Me (aka Gregory) had a very bad cold virus that turned to bronchitis on Friday. He is also on an antibiotic.

As for Mini-T (aka Michael), he is really sick with flu. His oxygen intake is at 70% of his normal which is below average. He has been drooping on the couch in the living room all weekend, coughing his lungs out with a red, puffy face.

Father’s Day could not, however, pass by completely unnoticed.  So I thought up a cake that would not require to much effort from me – strawberry cream shortcake. I didn’t have any strawberries though so it evolved into a [very expensive and imported from Spain] cheery cream short cake.

It came out really well and, despite their ailments, Mr Fox and Mini-Me managed to tuck in and eat a slice. Mini-T and I just didn’t quite feel well enough to partake of the feast. I did take some cake down to my parents cottage so that my parents, my sister and her husband and my aunt could also enjoy the outcome of my innovative “sick day” baking.

The cherry cream shortbread cake looked delightful and everyone who could eat it enjoyed it.

IMG_2299

If you look carefully at this picture you will see two different kinds of cream. My effort saving double thick cream from a pot didn’t quite work out as planned so I ended up having to whip cream any way [I also had to wipe up the double thick cream that had run all over the plate and onto the floor with a cloth – such is life and actually quite funny].

My shortbread recipe can be found in Sir Chocolate and the strawberry cream berries story and cookbook. If you don’t happen to have that to hand, you can watch the video on how to make it below:

Wishing you all a good week filled with good health and cheer!

Robbie and Michael Cheadle are the co-authors of the Sir Chocolate Book series and Robbie Cheadle is the author of Silly Willy goes to Cape Town (coming soon)

 

75 thoughts on “Father’s day cherry cream “sick day” cake

  1. Oh Robbie, I hate that you all were sick for Fathers Day (or any day!). I find it practically impossible to understand how you managed to make a cake when you didn’t even feel well enough to eat a slice yourself – and make a trip to take some to your parents. You are made of stronger stuff than I, that’s for SURE!

    I hope that you are feeling better by the time you read these words, and got to taste the results of your efforts. I loved your rhino btw – very clever.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
    ADD/EFD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hope you are all feeling better soon! The cake looks yummy. I would prefer it without strawberries (one of those childhood foods I can no longer eat).

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you, Danielle. I will try to persuade Greg to do the filming more often. He also does the editing for me. It is great when you kids start knowing way more than you do in a specific field.

        Like

  3. Robbie, so sorry to hear that you guys are all so sick… especially on a family day like Father’s Day. It is incredible to think it is winter in South Africa now… when we have had the hottest day of the year here (It was like being back in Turkey – the country not the bird wrapped in tinfoil and stuffed in the oven). Get well soon all of you and lovely inventive cake recipe was just the ticket! (Off now to watch your video… as you know I love food and this way I can enjoy baking without actually having to do any!!!!)

    Your mate Paul

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Paul. We will all recover, it is my little Michael who I worry about as he doesn’t recover quickly at all. I hope you enjoyed the video and this is the easiest and most delicious recipe ever so you never know. Have a happy week.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I can only imagine how much Mums must worry over their kids- then I imagine how much heartache I must have given mine when I was a tearaway older teenager. Thanks for making me think of my Mum Robbie, I am ashamed to say I no longer do it often enough. Get you kids and hubby and yourself well… but not necessarily in that order… simultaneously would be far nicer!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for coming round to see me at Beyond the Flow and for taking part in our Global Great Get Together. I was excited to read that you’d taken it to South Africa and helped to honour Jo Cox’s legacy.
    I am so excited to find your site as I have worked on writing children’s books and got quite into it but put it aside in the end. I am also a very keen cook and try to get in some cooking with the kids as I believe it’s an essential life skill and also teaches a range of general skills.
    I recently had a surprise home visit from Australia’s first Masterchef, Julie Goodwin, who is also a host on our local radio station. THought you might find it of interest: https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2017/05/12/rowena-the-radio-stars/
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Awww, I’m so sorry you and your family are sick. You’re so sweet to make the effort to make a cake. 🎂 I hope you and your boys (hubby included) get well soon. By the way, the cake looks scrumptious.💕

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sending you all my love, I hope you are all feeling much better, and I see now why Michael was admitted to hospital.. And I will continue to send out thoughts through the airwaves..
    I am pleased despite all your ill health you managed cake.. Most important.. 🙂
    And thank you, we too had a lovely Father’s Day, with my Son and family, Daughter and partner all coming to visit and deliver presents for that day and for mid week when their Dad had his 70th Big Day.. So lots of smiles and celebrations were had..

    Sending LOVE and enjoyed my catch up Robbie.. Have a brilliant new week a head. Love Sue xx ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

