A cake for a friend and a poem

A good friend of mine celebrated her birthday yesterday with a lovely dinner and dancing party. The venue looked spectacular with lots of tiny little fairy lights hanging down from the cornices in strings.

I was asked to make the birthday cake. Initially, I responded with caution. “What theme do you want?” I asked. Happily, the other girls hadn’t given any thought to the theme for the cake and so I could do whatever I liked. That is the best arrangement for me. On these agreeable terms, I agree to make the birthday cake without a moments further hesitation. I chose a theme of shoes and bags which I made over the past two weekends. Each set took about two to three hours so I had to start my preparations early.

The cake had two tiers, a small round chocolate cake for the top layer and a large round vanilla cake for the bottom layer. I iced each layer by applying a crumb coating of vanilla butter icing, followed with a layer of thick fondant. I also applied a thick layer of fondant to the cake board so that this two was white. I decorated the cake with pink ribbon and the four sets of shoes and bags that I had made as well as white fondant tiles hand painted with edible gold paint heralding the words “Kalli Happy Birthday”.

This was the final cake:

IMG_2140

Here are some close ups of the sets of shoes and bags:

Fifty years in shoes

When we come into this life,

Our feet are tiny, pink and bare.

Our sweet smiles and coos,

With everyone we share.

 

Are first shoes are formless and soft,

A new and welcome sensation.

There are no hard walking soles,

Of us, as yet no expectations.

 

As we embark on life’s journey,

Our shoes mark our progression.

We soon learn to stand alone,

With no parental intervention.

 

All through our school days,

We wear sensible black shoes.

We can’t wait to break free,

And our school girl look to lose.

 

Teenage and young adult years,

Are measured in bright colours.

Carefree days, warm and happy,

We look back on golden summers.

 

We soon meet someone wonderful,

And unhesitatingly seek to tie the knot.

Responsibility soon creeps up on us,

As we learn to live with what we’ve got.

 

The wonderful gift of Motherhood,

Becomes ours to embrace and enjoy.

Although to juggle work and children,

All our ingenuity we must deploy.

 

And now at the middle age of fifty,

Our children are turning out okay.

While I’ve wanted to run away often,

I think I’ve finally decided I’ll stay.

by Robbie Cheadle

 

Robbie and Michael Cheadle are the co-authors of the Sir Chocolate Book series

 

75 thoughts on “A cake for a friend and a poem

  1. Wow! Wonderful cake and equally lovely poem, describing the journey of life…which seems as pleasant as your cakes look! How our shoes change with age, well articulated Robbie 🙂 Your creativity is amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are amazing , Robbie. You have a very disarming way with words that turn into beautiful poetry and tour creations look wonderful! Unbelievable, fabulous ! Too too good. You are one inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A beautiful poem (I must confess I’ve always preferred comfy shoes, although I admire the beautiful but unpractical ones) and a gorgeous cake that sounds delicious too, although I’m sure I would have felt bad if I had to destroy it to eat it… Your friend must have been delighted. You’re a true artist, Robbie!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow, what a lovely friend you are Robbie. The cake is exquisite, I’d love the same one (can you whip it up by Wednesday, my birthday? lol) But the poem on shoes was equally beautiful – a walk through life. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You make some beautiful cakes and if I had the chance, I would just come over to visit for the aroma! I love the smell of fresh baked cakes and breads, but truly mine never turned out as lovely as yours!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

