Mr Fox’s birthday – Pavlova tower and chocolate cheesecake

Today we celebrated Mr Fox’s birthday. He turned (10 * 5) / 2 + 25 – 6 [don’t forget your BODMAS]. We had his family and one of my sister’s around for a birthday tea and I made a pavlova tower and a chocolate cheesecake.

Pavlova tower

I wanted to make a six tiered pavlova tower but that proved to be a bit ambitious and I settled for four [as disaster was the other alternative].

Meringue is a bit tricky to make and it has to be baked in the oven for a very long time. I made the six meringues in two batches using the following recipe for each batch:

Ingredients

8 egg whites;

1/2 teaspoon of salt;

1 cup white sugar; and

1 1/2 cups of icing sugar

Method

Preheat the oven to 140 degrees Celsius. Beat the 8 egg whites on a medium speed with the salt for 4 minutes. Add the white sugar 1 tablespoon at a time. Turn up the speed and gradually add the icing sugar until stiff, glossy peaks form. I had drawn the circle shapes that I wanted onto a piece of wax paper and laid this in a baking tray. I scooped the meringue mixture onto the wax paper and smoothed the top with the flat blade of a knife. Bake in the over for 3 hours. Once baked switch off the oven and leave the meringues to cool completely with the oven door closed so that the meringue does not crack.

Tips

  1. Don’t add the sugar to fast or the meringue will bleed; and
  2. Don’t over beat or the meringue will not hold its shape.

Stacking the meringue tower

I attached the largest meringue to the serving dish with a dab of royal icing so that it wouldn’t slide. I covered the top of the meringue with thick cream and added sliced kiwi fruit.

IMG_2096

I then proceeded to add the other three tiers and the end pavlova tower looked like this:

IMG_2104

The meringues were very nice. Lovely and crisp on the outside and slightly soft on the inside. All in the experiment went well although the top meringue did bleed a little bit.

Chocolate cheesecake

The alternative to the pavlova tower was a delicious chocolate cheesecake. It was very rich and decadent but Mr Fox loves chocolate and I only made a small cheesecake so people could only have a small slice.

I turned the chocolate cheesecake into a hot chocolate duck pond from Sir Chocolate and the fondant dogs. The kids loved it!

IMG_2093

Robbie and Michael Cheadle are the co-authors of the Sir Chocolate Book series

 

 

 

 

64 thoughts on “Mr Fox’s birthday – Pavlova tower and chocolate cheesecake

  1. Both the pavlova tower and the chocolate cheesecake look delicious and very professional, better than you would see in any cake shop or restaurant. I’m sure Terence was very pleased and that you are all very sugared up.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love all the treat! The party is grand! Since I can’t eat everything, may I have a small piece chocolate cheesecake?
    ♥♫♪ Happy birthday to you ♪♫, Happy birthday to you ♪♫, Happy birthday to Mr. Fox, ♪♫, Happy birthday to you ♪♫ ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Robbie, I might have to stop visiting your site, because the desserts always send me running to the corner store for chocolate! I’ll have a serving of each of the above, please 🙂 You are so talented ♥

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

