Lemon custard slices

Some of your readers will know that I am making my husband a meringue tower for his birthday day next week. The meringue tower requires six meringues of various sizes from plate size to donut size. That is a lot of meringue and as they take between three and four hours in the oven on a setting of 130 degrees Celcius, I started making them this week. Meringues keep really well so it is not a problem to start making them early. Meringues use egg whites only which left me with ten left over egg yolks. I don’t like to waste food so I looked for a recipe that used egg yolks and I decided to make lemon custard slices.

Ingredients:

For the biscuit base:

625 ml cake flour;

1/2 teaspoon salt;

180 grams melted butter;

125 ml castor sugar;

15 ml lemon zest;

1 egg;

7.5 ml vanilla essence

For the filling:

7 gelatin leaves soaked in cold water;

425 ml lemon juice;

30 grams lemon zest;

200 ml cold water;

10 eggs;

10 egg yolks;

675 ml castor sugar;

500 grams cubed, softened butter

Method:

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius.

Beat the flour, melted butter, castor sugar, slat and lemon zest together until the mixture forms fine crumbs. Add the egg and vanilla mixture and beat until a dough forms. Roll out the dough and line a 25 cm by 30 cm prepared rectangular baking tin with the dough. Bake in the oven for 15 minutes until golden brown.

In a large saucepan over a medium heat, heat the butter, egg yolks, eggs, castor sugar lemon zest and lemon juice mixed with cold water. Stir the mixture constantly while it heats up to prevent curdling. Once the mixture has started to thicken allow to “cook” for about 5 minutes stirring constantly to prevent lumps. Remove the mixture from the heat and add the drained gelatin leaves. Allow the gelatin leaves to melt into the mixture and continue to stir until the mixture is completely smooth. Allow to cool slightly and then pour the mixture over the biscuit base and place in the refrigerator overnight to set.

Cut into slices and serve.

Robbie and Michael Cheadle are the co-authors of the Sir Chocolate Book series

59 thoughts on “Lemon custard slices

  1. Robbie, It is useless me pretending I will ever attempt to bake it, but it does look delicious! (I can cook but baking is really beyond me- I can manage granola bars but scones send me hysterical That’s how bad I am!) Still I can look and dream!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. We will be staying at my cousin’s home in Kent. We are travelling to Diss to show my boys their roots and then on to Warwick Castle – so exciting. We are also taking Greg to Stratford on Avon as he is desperate to go there. It is all very exciting!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I would love to compare your recipe to this one – I love doing that and seeing the differences. Meringue is not that difficult to make. There are two golden rules, don’t add the sugar to quickly or the meringue will bleed and don’t over beat or the meringue will not hold its shape.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

