A gingerbread castle for charity

I have been down a rabbit hole the entire weekend. I have been meticulously [and quite painfully I might add] baking and assembling a gingerbread castle for a charity even at my office tomorrow. Occasionally I have moments of madness when I decide to make some very extreme cake or confectionary artwork and this was one of those. I have told my husband that if I ever mention gingerbread castles again he is to lock me in the bedroom until the madness passes. My sons have both told me that, while the do like gingerbread, they are happy to do without it until next year.

The gingerbread castle serves two purposes. Firstly, I have filled the towers and keep with sweets and my work colleagues can buy a ticket and guess how many sweets are in the castle. The closest guess wins. Secondly, the castle will feature prominently in Silly Willy goes to England which I am busy writing for publication next year.

The castle was quite a big effort to make. I had to draw a template for the castle first which took me about three hours as I kept making mistakes and the pieces didn’t fit together perfectly. I then had to bake slabs of gingerbread and cut them to size using the template. Do you have any idea how many pieces there are in a castle? I was quite shocked to discover that there are 20 pieces for the 4 towers alone plus 12 pieces for the double walls and 5 pieces for the keep. I was mighty impressed with the result though [even if I didn’t take the time to count the pieces before I started and only realised how much baking was required half way through].

IMG_1901

As my colleague, Donna, was unable to help me out with the second prize this time around, I made those too. A baked a small chocolate cake which I iced with chocolate icing and decorated with some daffodils I made from fondant. I also baked a vanilla cake and iced it with the chocolate icing and decorated it with a fondant chameleon.

The third prize is a copy of Sir Chocolate and the Sugar Dough Bees Story and Cookbook.

sir-chocolate-and-the-sugar-dough-bees-08022017-cover-new

The proceeds from this event will go towards the Gift of Sight fund.

Robbie and Michael Cheadle are the co-authors of the Sir Chocolate Book series

82 thoughts on “A gingerbread castle for charity

      1. It’s worth all the trouble. It’s quite a masterpiece! I am proud to be seeing this. I can’t do it but I sure admire and respect the effort and the end result.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Robbie, you are a madwoman indeed! I made & decorated giant personalized gingerbread people for Christmas presents one year (MANY years ago now) and I had no idea the time commitment necessary until I was too far into it to back out. I promised myself NEVER again.

    I can’t even imagine the time and effort you put into your wonderful castle – much more than it took to create the beautiful cakes, I’m sure.

    I hope the winners really appreciates them, and good luck with Silly Willy goes to England
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
    ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Madelyn. Yes, it was the act of a mad woman but such a great challenge and I do so love a challenge. Working with gingerbread is so nice because you can get everything almost exact which I really like. Hugs.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Robbie, I have always been enchanted by gingerbread houses and have gone to many display events over my life. I just don’t have the talent (or patience) to make one myself, even when I’ve lived in a place with a large enough kitchen in which to do so.

        There was a gingerbread house section at a yearly event called “A Festival of Trees” in Knoxville, Tn. that I liked to attend when I lived there. Most of the items on display were for sale to support various causes. One year I purchased a gingerbread theatre with a marquis that featured It’s a Wonderful Life (my first career was in the theatre and I LOVE that film).

        I had planned to store it to display year after year (I heard that polyurethane is supposed to allow you to do that, as well as bug-proofing), but just a bit of time in an environment that wasn’t t-totally dry (finished basement) crumbled parts of it, which I had planned to attempt to repair. Shortly after that the house I was living in was put on the market before I could afford to buy it myself, and it didn’t make sense to try to move it with me.

        Your castle post brought back many memories for me, however, and I thank you again for sharing your talents with all of us.
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you for sharing your lovely memories about gingerbread houses with me, Madelyn. I love dolls and doll houses and this is the next best thing. I think my husband might object if I started to collect doll houses [he thinks I am nuts already]. At least the gingerbread houses get eaten and I can make another. A gingerbread theatre – now there is a challenging thought!

        Like

  2. This is awesome, Robbie. You are so creative with your cakes and fondant sculptures. I love the chameleon, and the castle is just amazing. You are so generous gifting the prizes for the charity raffle. I hope you have a huge workplace, sell lots of tickets, and make lots of money for the charity.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Norah. We did make quite a lot of money so I am very pleased. I really enjoyed making the castle, it was a great challenge and I know it will not be wasted if it goes to the office, which is fairly big. Terence also like the chameleon, he was a cute little fellow.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It was lots of fun, Hugh. The lady who won the castle wanted to eat the sweets but didn’t want to damage the castle. So I had to stand with a butter knife and pry the tops of the towers off so that the sweet contents could be raided by the hungry hordes. We then put the tops back on.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This is a mighty and very generous undertaking, Robbie, for a great cause. Fantastic! (It’s probably a good thing you didn’t realise how much work it involved but it was well worth it). Congratulations!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow! I made a gingerbread carousel once and that was quite the undertaking, so I can’t imagine taking on a castle! Great work! Bravo!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

