Fresh tomato soup

As today is a public holiday, we had friends over for lunch. We were lucky and had a beautiful warm day. The younger members of the gathering were sitting around in tee-shirts and shorts. I am always cold but even I had on a tee-shirt with long trousers.

The menu for this occasion was fresh tomato soup and South African corn bread for starters and corned beef, salad and meilies on the cob for the main meal.

I made the soup from scratch. My sister came around yesterday, arriving just as I finished making the soup, and asked why I did not used whole canned tomatoes instead of fresh ones. I replied that it does not taste the same which it doesn’t. The soup came out pretty well with a lovely tang but not too sharp. This is how I made it:

Fresh tomato soup

Ingredients:

2 kilograms of fresh tomatoes;

2 level tablespoons cornflour;

1 litre of milk;

1 bay leaf;

1 clove;

6 peppercorns;

1 small onion chopped;

1 1/2 tablespoons tomato paste;

125 ml cream; and

salt and pepper to taste.

Method:

Place the tomatoes into a large bowl and cover in boiling water. Once the water has cooled down, pour off the water and peel the skins off the tomatoes. Cut the peeled tomatoes into quarters and place in a large pot. Add the milk, bay leaf, clove, peppercorns, salt and pepper and chopped onion and bring gently to the simmering point on the stove hob.

IMG_1796

Do not bring to the simmering point to quickly or the mixture will curdle. Allow to simmer for 75 minutes, stirring intermittently. Once the tomatoes are really soft, remove the pot from the heat and allow the mixture to cool. Use a blender to blend the mixture so that a lovely thick soup remains. Add 125 ml of cream. Serve hot.

IMG_1815

Robbie and Michael Cheadle are the co-authors of the Sir Chocolate Book series

 

 

 

38 thoughts on “Fresh tomato soup

  1. Looks delicious but what about the South African cornbread for starters and corned beef, salad, and mielies on the cob for the main meal. It all sounds interesting, I wonder if So. African cornbread is different than what we have here in America. The corned beef salad sounds interesting too. Thank you for sharing. ☺☺☺

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was going to include the recipe for the corn bread but thought the post would be to long. I will post it soon and then you can let me know if it is different from the American version. My husband made the corned beef and it was superb. Next time he makes it I will film it.

      Like

  2. Nothing beats Home made Tomato Soup, And I have a recipe on my garden blog.. I roast my tomatoes with some garlic .. 🙂
    And May Day I was celebrating too my Birthday.. So we had family and friends coming and going all weekend long.. 🙂
    Love your recipe Robbie.. and I could just eat a bowl with some crusty home made bread.. Yumm..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

