Thursday photo prompt – Child #writephoto

This poem was written for Sue Vincent’s Thursday Photo Prompt. You can join in at this link: https://scvincent.com/2017/04/27/thursday-photo-prompt-child-writephoto/

Through the eyes of a child

A tiny green leaf,

A piece of rough bark,

The brilliant stars,

That shine in the dark.

 

The softness of feathers,

In a duvet, cuddly and warm,

An intact and delicate shell,

With a most entrancing form.

 

A soft and cool zephyr,

Gently lifting her hair,

A story told by Grandpa,

About some honey and a bear.

 

The freshly mowed lawn,

With a smell so sweet,

The fine lawn clippings,

That tickle her feet.

 

The brightness of the sun,

The sky’s light blue,

For this young child,

The world is completely new.

 

Robbie and Michael Cheadle are the co-authors of the Sir Chocolate Book series

 

56 thoughts on “Thursday photo prompt – Child #writephoto

  1. Sue’s photo challenge has prompted a lot of wonderful creativity. GREAT picture – and your creativity captures the sheer wonder of any child lucky enough to inhabit this room or dream about it.

    My childhood dollhouse was store-bought and metal (and totally disappointing, to tell the truth, so I’m sure it came from my grandmother and NOT Santa or my parents), but your lovely words still bring me back in my imagination to the dollhouse I longed for and the wonder of childhood. THANKS!
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
    ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ll look forward to it, Robbie. I’m rushing to sprinkle content below on comments I won’t be able to locate “backstage” on my return.
        ~~~~~~~~~~

        I’m out the door until Thurs. (5/4) as soon as I “send.” Tink and I will be leaving for a cabin at a State Park in the hills of Kentucky with my friend Sam, whom I met in Knoxville, TN. when I was a freshman in college and we were both young and beautiful – lol – taking Social Dance because it counted as gym (and neither of us wanted to mess up our GPA’s and figured this would be an easy A).

        We had barely arrived when instructor told us to partner up – for the ENTIRE course. (Hmmmm – so which male can I stand to have pawing me for an entire quarter?) Sam was the only male in the class who was clearly not a jock, so I snapped him up. (I needn’t have worried, the athletes paired off with the cheerleaders) 🙂

        So began a life-long friendship, mostly by phone in the last decade or so – and we are both psyched to spend a few days catching up in person.

        I won’t be back online until Friday late-ish. Sam will be staying with me Thursday nite before driving home (and I have to deal with lease renewals and outside errands during the day).

        I hope your week is equally lovely – DITTO anyone else reading.
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful poem Robbie. It exactly caught a child’s sense of wonder at the world where everything is new. I often wonder what it would be like to see the world fresh again without all our adult troubles and preconceptions…. it must be a marvelous thing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

