Panic attack – a poem

img_0237

I miss the turn,

The night is black.

I feel it creep up,

A panic attack.

My body is ice,

My heart wildly flutters.

My mind is a blank,

All thought it shutters.

My fear rises up,

Like a tangible beast.

It roams my mind,

On reason to feast.

Nothing is familiar,

I feel almost insane.

As ration I desperately,

Try to grip and retain.

I made a decision,

Turn to the right.

My anxiety abates,

My destination in sight.

by Robbie Cheadle

Robbie and Michael Cheadle are the co-authors of the Sir Chocolate Book series

45 thoughts on “Panic attack – a poem

  1. I liked this. I read it aloud and at a fast tempo. I could feel my heart beating faster with anxiety. I recalled a night when I took a wrong turn on a country road, was nearly out of gas and had no idea where I was for a few minutes. I stopped at a farmhouse, walked to the front door to ask directions. Instead, upon looking through the glass pane, I saw a couple starting to behave affectionately to each other. My judgement told me to get out there quickly. From then on, I paid attention to where I was. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Patricia. I have two GPS’. I have absolutely no sense of direction at all. The GPS did help get me back to the airport on this occasion. The panic was more a result of the dubious area I found myself in at 4.30am in the morning than anything else.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

