The little girl who loved dolls

IMG_1526

The story of the missing Jack

When I was a little girl of nearly four years old, my sister, Catherine, was born. Catherine was born six weeks early which meant that when my Mom came home from the hospital after the birth, she didn’t bring my new baby sister with her. Catherine had to go into the neonatal ward with all the other premature babies. She was so small that she could fit into my Dad’s hand. I was not able to visit my sister as the hospital was very strict about visitors and little girls of four years old carried germs. My Mom did tell me about her though and one of the things she said was that Catherine had a needle into her head to feed her. The needle looked giant inserted into my little sister’s tiny head.

In anticipation of the new baby’s birth, my English Nana, my Mom’s Mother, had sent some beautiful clothes for the baby and she had also sent me a set of twin dolls. The dolls were a Jack and Jill set and were very beautiful. Their faces where made of moulded plastic and they had eyes that opened and shut. Jack had short curly brown hair and Jill had long brown curly hair. I had never had never such beautiful dolls before and I was completely delighted with them. I loved to undress and re-dress them, tying the bows on Jill’s lovely dress and putting on her little socks and shoes with real poppers on the straps.

After six weeks, the doctor told my Mom and Dad that my little sister was ready to come home. The doctor and the nursing staff at the hospital told my parents that my new little sister was very vulnerable to sickness and that they should keep her away from other people as much as possible for the next four months. We were living in a rented house at the time and my parents decided to give notice and move our family to the countryside for the necessary four months. South Africa was going into the winter months by then and the weather was getting colder. There were lots of cold and flu germs floating around and my Mom was terrified that Catherine would get sick. My Dad rented a cottage on the farm of a very kind Afrikaans family and we moved in very quickly. The farm was a vegetable farm and not an animal farm so there was not a lot of distraction for a small girl of four years old who’s Mom was very busy with a new baby. I didn’t go to nursery school during this four-month period.

Being a very gregarious person, I soon made friends with the small daughter of one of the farm workers. Her name was Naledi which means “star”. I have always remembered that as I thought it was such a beautiful meaning for a name. Much better than my own name. Naledi and I used to play under the hedge that surrounded the cottage we were renting. We played all sorts of made-up games and made mud pies out of the loose soil and water.

One day, I introduced Naledi to my Jack and Jill dolls. I didn’t have many dolls and toys but I did have a few. Naledi, however, had never seen a real doll before. She was completely enthralled with these dolls with the blue eyes that opened and shut and the perfect clothes that you could take off and put back on again. As Naledi was my best friend and we played together every day, I decided to give her Jack. That is what I did and I went back home at tea time with just Jill. My Mom was very cross about my giving Jack away. The dolls were a set and were a very expensive item so she was justified in her annoyance. I never regretted giving that doll to Naledi. We continued to play together with those two dolls and all manner of leaf plates, acorn cups and other playthings provided by nature for the remainder of my time in that cottage.

Sadly, Jill was eventually given away during one of our many moves but I often wondered what happened to Jack and to Naledi. Hopefully, that doll continued to bring her pleasure long after we moved back to town and I went back to my school and my friends there.

by Robbie Cheadle

Robbie and Michael Cheadle are the co-authors of the Sir Chocolate Book series

77 thoughts on “The little girl who loved dolls

  1. Such a sweet post Robbie and I too was remembering my past as I was reading your words. A nostalgic effect and for sure we used to enjoy all this as kids. Wonder what must have happened to your friend Naledi. Great toys we all loved Jack and Jill.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m sure you made Nadeli a very happy girl. Who knows? She might still have Jack. Your story about your sister reminds me of my goddaughter Alexandra, who was also born premature and fitted in her father’s hand. She’s soon to be 16 and it’s almost impossible to believe she was ever so tiny. What memories! Thanks, Robbie!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a wonderful Story Robbie and your generous gift of Jack to Naledi. I am sure she would have treasured it as much as you treasured Jill.. And I would not be at all surprised if Naledi did not one day tell her children of the generous friend that gave her such a treasured Gift ❤ Love and Blessings

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Reblogged this on Kate McClelland and commented:
    Such a sweet story. I’m sure Jack was very well loved and had lovely memories of you attached to him. I’m sure he’s in a soft padded box somewhere or even on a shelf next to the biscuit tin so he can survey the kitchen and all who enter it :0)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Such a heartwarming story Robbie. Isn’t it interesting how pure children’s hearts are – while you wanted to share your doll with your friend, your mom was concerned about the value of the dolls and keeping both,. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Debby. I never thought of it like that but you are right. Parents also have all the financial responsibility for raising their children and that is quite a heavy burden. I am looking forward to being a grandmother, all the fun and none of the worry!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. It was so sweet of you to give Jack to Naledi , Robbie. I, too, was reprimanded for giving away a toy. My folks were so strapped financially that I now understand their reaction. But children deserve to be praised when they share. Good job, little Robbie 🙂 ♥

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

