Thursday photo prompt – Deep #writephoto

This post has been written for Sue Vincent’s Thursday photo prompt. You can take part by following this link: https://scvincent.com/2017/03/16/thursday-photo-prompt-deep-writephoto/

Silly Willy visits the Cango Caves in Oudtshoorn

We set off. We had to climb down some steps to get into the first cavern called van Zyl’s hall. I stopped in surprise when we walked into this cavern. It was enormous! Even Willy stopped talking and stared and stared. The guide said that the hall is over 90 metres long, 50 metres wide in some places and between 14 and 18 metres high. Dad is 1.62 metres high so that is really high. It was warm in the caves which surprised me, I thought it would be really cold down under the ground, but it wasn’t. There was a funny smell which I didn’t like. Our guide said that the smell was because there were bats living in the cave. I was worried, I don’t like bats and I didn’t want to walk into any. Dad said that bats are nocturnal. This means that they sleep in the day and are awake at night – thank goodness.

The guide told us that this cave was named after a local farmed called Jacobus van Zyl. People thought that he had discovered the caves in the 1770’s. He also said that there were no records of someone with that name living in the Oudtshoorn area at that time so it is a myth. As we walked through this massive hall, the guide switched on the lights as we moved forward and switched off the lights behind us. I made sure I walked quickly and stayed with Dad, I didn’t want to be left in the dark. I hoped that Mom was watching Willy. The guide told us that during the 1960’s and right up to the 1990’s classical music concerts where held in this big cavern. It was found that the heat of the people’s bodies and the carbon dioxide from their breath was damaging the stalactites and stalagmites. People were also breaking off some of the rock formations and taking them as souvenirs so the concerts were stopped. I play the piano and thought it sounded really fantastic to play in an amazing place like this.

We moved on and came to a thick column of rock called Cleopatra’s Needle. It was so wide that Mom and Willy could stand side by side in front of it to have their photograph taken. Dad also took some photographs with Mom, Willy and I standing in front of this rock formation. The guide said that Cleopatra’s Needle is nearly 10 metres tall and took 150 000 years to form. The Cango Caves were formed over 20 million years by rainwater seeping through tiny cracks the limestone belt where they are found. The rainwater eventually dissolved the limestone and the caves appeared. I thought that was incredible – 20 million years, I can’t even think of such a big number.

img_1006

Follow Robbie Cheadle on:

Blogs: robbiesinspiration.wordpress.com

Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/15584446.Robbie_Cheadle)

Twitter: https://twitter.com/bakeandwrite

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SirChocolateBooks/

 

 

25 thoughts on “Thursday photo prompt – Deep #writephoto

      1. Gershwin, Irving Berlin-that sort of song craft is absent from today’s commercially produced music. However, my tastes do run the gamut. I still listen to some classic rock; Beatles, Led Zeppelin- even hip-hop, that is, when it still harbored a social conscience.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh my.. what a beautiful cave system.. I loved that you took me into this wonderful cavern .. Its a pity people spoil the concerts Venues down their by taking bits of the cavern.. I bet the acoustics were great..

    I remember going to visit a wonderful underground cave in Majorca called the The Caves of Drach .. If you google them you should see them They would not allow us to take any photos underground, and the guides would get very angry with anyone who tried.. Taking one camera off a person who took pictures to return it to him outside.. as they sell all the photos in their gift shop..
    But that has an underground lake and boats.. Concerts I know are held in there, as it opens into a great auditorium. 🙂
    We had the pleasure of listening to an orchestra who played on a boat.. :-}

    So brought back memories of that.. Under the Earth is a huge system of places and caves we know so little about.. I especially love the giant crystals that are found underground. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so pleased that this piece of writing brought back lovely memories for you. I love caves and we have been to see quite a few in the various places we have visited. My oldest son collects rocks and crystals so we have quite a collection – we didn’t break off any thought, they are all acquired legitimately.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha… and I am clapping as I got this reply in the notifications.. Yippeeeee!.. LOL.. and yes, I have loads of crystals too.. And just love wearing them and connecting to their healing properties.. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Fabulous and very vivid images. I also love classical music and like Sue visited les Coves del Drach (in my case many years back). Impressive. Thanks very much, Robbie and love to the family.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I do love these wonderful creations of yours. I still say you should attempt to commercially market your products here in the states. I think you’ll find there is enormous potential for what you have to offer!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can’t say that I am a great bat fan although I am not scared of them. The Cango Caves are the most outstanding I have been in and I do enjoy caves so have popped into a few in other countries and in SA.

      Like

Leave a Reply

