Gingerbread loaf

I love gingerbread. It is my favourite sweet treat either as a biscuit or as a loaf. I enjoy making gingerbread houses from time to time and I particularly like decorating them. The pictures below are a few of the gingerbread men and houses that I have made over the past few months.

Picture 1: Gingerbread house that features in Sir Chocolate and the strawberry cream berries story and cookbook;

Picture 2: Star Wars gingerbread jedi knights;

Picture 3: Gingerbread haunted mansion, Sir Chocolate, the greedy snails (the greedy snails feature in Sir Chocolate and the sugar dough bees story and cookbook) and the trolls;

Picture 4: Gingerbread chapel that will feature in Sir Chocolate and the gingerbread chapel story and cookbook (available in Q1 2018); and

Picture 5: Gingerbread log cabin.

Today I thought I would experiment and create a new gingerbread loaf. I was pleased with the way it came out.

IMG_0872

The recipe that I made up, based on my gingerbread biscuits and other loaf cakes I have made, is as follows:

Ingredients

2 cups self raising flour;

1 cup sugar;

1/2 cup melted butter;

2 teaspoons cinnamon;

2 teaspoons ground ginger;

2 beaten eggs;

2 tablespoons syrup;

1 cup boiling water.

Method

Heat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Sift the flour into a bowl. Add the sugar, cinnamon and ginger. Pour the melted butter into the dry mixture and mix until crumbly. Add the two beaten eggs and mix. Add the boiling water and beat until there are no lumps. Dip the measuring spoon into hot water and then add the syrup (it will slide off the hot spoon). Spoon the mixture into a prepared loaf tin. Bake in the oven for 45 to 50 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean.

Follow Robbie Cheadle on:

Blogs: robbiesinspiration.wordpress.com

Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/15584446.Robbie_Cheadle)

Twitter: https://twitter.com/bakeandwrite

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SirChocolateBooks/

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “Gingerbread loaf

      1. Oh, yes! We are intolerant to quite a few foods, but even without being able to eat gluten anymore, I always use the gingerbread spices. Reminds me of times I was able to eat them!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Thanks, Robbie. Love the houses. Gingerbread (and anything baked or cooked with ginger) wasn’t very common in Spain when I grew up so I’ve never got used to it, but I’m saving this recipe. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

