Why I am glad I am living in the 21st century

The other day at work one of my colleague’s mentioned that he would love to have lived during a past age when people worked and lived off the land. His dream is to farm and live a simple and wholesome life. A very unappealing thought to me, Little Miss City. It did make me think, however, about why I am grateful to live the modern 21st century life I do. I am a highly educated and emancipated woman of the world. I have a good job that I love [well, most of the time], I get to write interesting publications and my own books [or at least I try!], I have a family and a great husband, good health, amazing sisters and I even get to travel. What more could I want! Nothing that I can think of but I can think of things that I would not want.

20150411_143142

I would not want to live in the Victorian era when all women were stereotyped as home makers; the person who cooked, cleaned and raised the children. Women had no independence once married and lost their right to their wages, property (excluding land) and any other assets they accumulated once married as well as their right to their own bodies, basically becoming the property of their husband. Divorce was taboo during the Victorian era and so many woman had to endure abusive relationships and infidelity by men was considered to be socially acceptable. Female writers during the Victorian era mainly wrote under pseudonyms as their writing was considered to be inferior to that of men – think of the Bronte sisters!

There is also disease and illness to consider. During the Victoria era people had no understanding of what caused disease and how it spread. Diseases that were alive and well and killed thousands during this period were cholera, typhoid, smallpox, scarlet fever and measles, mumps and rubella. Think about Mary Ingalls in the Little House series by Laura Ingalls Wilder who goes blind after contracting scarlet fever and Beth in Little Women who ultimately dies of this disease. Most of these diseases have been virtually eradicated in our modern society due to clean drinking water, sanitation and vaccinations. Of course, I am aware that outbreaks of these diseases, particularly cholera, do occur in developing countries from time to time.

Maybe Victorian London is going a bit to far back so let me think about the 1930’s and 1940’s when my Mother was a child. My Mother was the daughter of a dairy farmer and was born during World War II. Possibly this is the lifestyle my colleague had in mind. My Mother has told me many tales of her childhood over the years and she certainly had a very different upbringing from my own two boys.

There were positives; my Mother and her siblings had lots of freedom. They could roam the quiet country town streets without fear of being run over by a motor vehicle or abducted by a lunatic. They swam in the river without fear of biological contamination and played on the common. There were also a few downsides, of course. My Mother was the sixth of eight surviving children, four boys and four girls. There was no birth control in those days so woman just kept getting pregnant and having baby after baby. The houses were tiny and people lived very simple lives so the ten members of my Mother’s family lived in a three bedroomed house. There was no indoor sanitation. During the day the family used an outhouse that was across the yard and at night they used a chamber pot which was emptied out in the morning. Bathing was a tedious affair and involved boiling water on the stove to fill up the large metal tub that was used to wash the milk bottles. Sometimes, if you were unlucky, you would scratch your bottom on a piece of glass while washing. My Mother’s father did not believe in educating girls; at eleven years old my Mother won a scholarship to the local grammar school but her Father would not buy her the uniform so she couldn’t go. I am not sure what life was like for the males in the family but, from what I have heard, it sounded pretty hard. Getting up at 4am in the freezing cold to milk cows by hand. I know my Uncle’s hands used to crack and bleed during the winter months. My Mother’s Father died of appendicitis when she was sixteen years old. When was the last time you heard of anyone dying of appendicitis?

All in all, if I weight everything up, I am very happy that I live my life and I wouldn’t exchange it for any other time period. The morale of this story is “be careful what you wish for”.

Follow Robbie Cheadle at:

Blog: robbiesinspiration.wordpress.com

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/15584446.Robbie_Cheadle

Plus.google: https://plus.google.com/105609586198905397891

Facebook: @SirChocolateBooks

Twitter: @bakeandwrite

 

 

 

27 thoughts on “Why I am glad I am living in the 21st century

  1. I wouldn’t want to go back either…I consider myself fortunate to have lived through the exciting discoveries we have made in my lifetime. On the other hand, I would happily escape the rat-race for a simpler, less emotionally draining lifestyle.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I have seen a lot of changes in my lifetime. From the outhouses and baths without running water to flushable loos and water on tap. The elimination of many of the diseases you mention occurred in my lifetime. Many of the changes have been for the better, but I think there are others that could do with a bit of tweaking. However, I’m definitely happy for my life and my lifetime. Thank you for an opportunity to show gratitude for what is. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Norah, my Mother has also lived through a lot of exciting changes. I must say that she is very happy and comfortable in her current life and wouldn’t change it for the world – she doesn’t work of course! I know that my Michael would not be alive if it wasn’t for modern medicine so I have a lot to be grateful for.

      Like

  3. I’d like to go back and be a fly on the wall! Just a thought but who’s to say you wouldn’t have been one of those women who broke the mould – a suffragette or female explorer! I’m certainly glad to be living this life, for all its problems and faults. The world may look as if it’s going to hell in a handcart at the moment but I’d still rather be me and now.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am in complete agreement with you. A woman’s life in the past was filled with hardship and lack. I am very happy to be alive in this century and the only thing I will regret when I die is I won’t know what happens in the future.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m grateful to have been born into this era too! I dream of a simpler life too but it mostly involves living in the country with access to all of the modern conveniences and health care. Best of both worlds!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love my life and all that I have in this century, but I so enamored of history it’s hard to say I wouldn’t jump in a time machine if one magically appeared. Maybe I wouldn’t want to live in those past eras and/or decades, but I would certainly like to visit.

    I do think, though, that we tend to look at the past eras and see only the good in them. We forget about the suppression, disease, social issues, etc.

    This was a intriguing post!

    Like

    1. Thank you for commenting Mae Clair. I also love history and I am particularly interested in women during the Victorian era. I too would love to pop back in time and have a visit but I definitely would not want to stay long term.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, I am glad I don’t have to share a toothbrush. Only the skirt of the dress is edible. I used the top part of an inexpensive Barbie doll and decorated it with fondant and icing. Some bakers cut a whole down the centre of the cake and insert the doll’s legs so that you can keep the doll.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Great story Robbie and huge statement – Be careful what you wish for. I’m with you, always moving forward. Sometimes it’s nice to look back, but I’ll take a pass on going back! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

