Blogger recognition award

blogger-recognition-award

Thank you to LadyLee Manila for nominating me for this award. I know it was a while ago but I have been very bogged down with Mystery Thriller Week and finalising two new books, one private and one for work. You can find LadyLee’s amazing blog and nomination at https://ladyleemanilablog.wordpress.com/2017/01/09/blogger-recognition-award/.

Rules

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  2.  Write a post to show your award.
  3.  Attach the award to your post.
  4.  Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  5.  Give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers.
  6.  Select 15 other blogs you want to receive the award.
  7.  Notify your nominees and provide a nomination link to your award post.

How my blog started

I have always liked to write, in particular, I like to write in rhyming verse. I have been scribbling ever since I was a young teenager, inspired by the writing of L.M. Montgomery. I also like to read, bake and make all sorts of figurines and creatures out of fondant.

I have two beautiful boys, both of whom also like to read. My younger son, Michael, also likes to cook and bake and sometimes likes to make lovely models out of fondant. Michael is very good at art and I suspect he will way outstrip my artistic efforts in the future.

Michael has some beautiful creative ideas but he doesn’t like to write. I decided to help him write his stories down using my favourite rhyming verse. We illustrated our little books with all sorts of figures and other fun items made out of cake, sweets, biscuits and fondant. After a while, a friend suggested that we publish our little books and this is what we did. We wanted another outlet for our creative endeavours as well and so I started my blog. Robbiesinspiration shares all Michael and my ideas on writing, baking and fondant.

Advice for new bloggers

I haven’t been blogging that long myself but the two best pieces of advice I have gleaned during my six months as a blogger are as follows:

  1. It helps to find other bloggers who share similar interests to your own. You learn a lot from their posts and you make friends with them by taking an interest in their posts and commenting on them;
  2. Read and reply to people who take the trouble to comment on your posts. That is how you make friends and get the best out of blogging.

Nominations

I nominate the following 15 bloggers for this award:

devildollmusings.com;

butismileanyway.com;

boundlessblessingsblog.wordpress.com;

suedreamwalker.wordpress.com;

keralas.live;

USAthroughoureyes.com;

annetterochelleaben.wordpress.com;

Sally of smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com;

yassy66.wordpress.com;

norahcolvin.com;

tinafrisco.com;

thepageturner.wordpress.com;

Danielle of Books, vertigo and tea.com;

sumyannawrite.wordpress.com; and

jamarattigan.com

 

Follow Robbie Cheadle at:

Blog: robbiesinspiration.wordpress.com

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/15584446.Robbie_Cheadle

Plus.google: https://plus.google.com/105609586198905397891

Facebook: @SirChocolateBooks

Twitter: @bakeandwrite

 

 

19 thoughts on “Blogger recognition award

  1. Thanks for the nomination and congratulations to you for receiving this award! Enjoyed poking around and learning more about your blog. 🙂 I don’t usually participate in blog memes, but I appreciate your thinking of Alphabet Soup. Looking forward to following your posts in the future.

    Like

  2. Hi Robbie, Congratulations. You have a wonderful blog and your fondant artwork always amazes me. You are very creative. I agree with the two pieces of advice you have given. Both are important for all bloggers, whether new to the blogosphere or not.
    While I am honoured by your nomination for the Blogger Participation Award, I won’t participate this time. Like you, I did join in with a few awards in my early days of blogging, but I now have a tight schedule of posts which I try to stick to. I post twice a week. I think that is enough for both me and my readers. On Tuesdays I participate in the flash fiction challenge at the Carrot Ranch, and on Fridays I post on my readilearn blog. Neither really allows for an award post. I may occasionally post a third in a week, but not often. I hope you don’t mind. I do share many of your posts on Twitter and Facebook so hopefully help new readers find your wonderful blog and find out about your Sir Chocolate Books. Thank you, and best wishes. Norah xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank for your lovely reply, Norah. That is no problem. This was my first one so I thought I would try it out. I also prefer to stick to a routine of posting and don’t often repost to my blog, preferring to share on twitter and Goggle plus.

      Like

  3. Congratulations Robbie. Well deserved! It’s hard to believe you’ve only been blogging for 6 months. And you seem to have caught on quickly to 2 of the most important aspects to blogging. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

