Glimpses by Hugh W. Roberts – my book review

glimpses

What Goodreads says about Glimpses

After publishing some of his short stories on his blog, Hugh W. Roberts, who suffers from dyslexia, received numerous requests to publish his short stories in a book.

Here, at last, are 28 short stories that will take your mind on a rollercoaster of a ride into worlds that conceal unexpected twists and turns.

‘Glimpses’ allows the reader a peek into the lives of everyday people who are about to have life lead them on an unpredicted path. From a mysterious deadly iPad app, to a hole in the fence that is not all it seems, to a strange lipstick that appears to have a life of its own, you will encounter terror, laughter, sadness, shock and many other emotions on journeys which promise a thrilling and gripping climax.

If you are a lover of shows such as ‘The Twilight Zone’ and ‘Tales Of The Unexpected’, then you’re in for a real treat with this first collection of short stories from Hugh.

My review of Glimpses

I found Glimpses by Hugh W. Roberts to be quite a unique book. It is a collection of short stories, mainly written along a supernatural theme. I am a great lover of supernatural and horror books and have been avidly reading Stephen King since I was ten years old, so this was right up my street. I had two absolute favourite stories/groupings of stories in this lovely book. My outright favourite was The Truth App which I read twice. It is a collection of a few short stories all in the same theme and it really “creeped” me out. Maybe I identified with it so much because it is all about blogging and bloggers which is a world in which I have recently become very immersed. I must say that I had to stop reading this tale in the evenings because it was giving me bad dreams. My advice to bloggers and other readers of this book, be careful what apps you choose to download!

My other outright winner was a short story about a woman who goes to India to have eye and dental treatment. This one stayed firmly in my mind because it made me reflect on the fact that, even if you read the completely incomprehensible list of ingredients on cosmetic and facial and other products, one rarely has any idea of what really goes into that cream that you are liberally apply all over your face. It also summoned up horrible thoughts of articles that I have read recently about testing medications and products on animals. A story that can make you think like that has got to be superb.

I found rating this book a huge conundrum because five star rating doesn’t allow for much scope with rating. I actually don’t really like this limited system. I finally settled on four out of five because I really enjoyed this book but I have rated my favourite Stephen King books five out of five, namely, The Stand, The Shining and The Dead Zone. These are lengthily novels which gives the writer a lot more scope to flesh out the characters and his ideas and story line. It felt reasonable to give Glimpses four out of five on this comparative basis. I would recommend this book but, perhaps, don’t read it at night when you are home alone.

Goodreads reviews of Glimpses

Kevin Cooper rated Glimpses five out of five stars and said:

I have to say as a great fan of Tales of the Unexpected growing up, I can most certainly feel the influence this show and others such as The Twilight Zone have had on Hugh W. Robert’s writing and I mean that in the most positive sense. Having said that, his stories are unique, cleverly devised and an absolute must read for fans of Strange Tales and the like.

Some of the tales had me chuckling deviously bringing out a bit of the inner darkness. One in particular though, Needles had me cringing. I had to rush through it and don’t think I could bring myself to read it again. Among my favourites are, Silent Night, Lipstick, (evil grin for the ladies) and I Believe In Father Christmas. (Even bigger evil grin for potential kiddies) There are others that stand out for me as well, but there’s no point in listing just about every story in the book.

Well-written, well-constructed, cleverly devised… Ticks all the boxes!

Terri Schrandt rated this book five out of five stars and said:

Here is my 5-star Amazon review:
Glimpses is a delightfully twisted set of short stories inspired by author Roberts’ blog. If you follow his blog, you may recognize a few of his terrifying tales reminiscent of stories in the sci-fi genre of Twilight Zone or Outer Limits peppered with a dash of horror. “The Truth App” is the piece de resistance in this collection of 28 stories. Roberts’ biting wit and deft tale-telling will have you reading on the edge of your…well, your reading device! A great read that will have you begging Roberts for more!

Purchase Glimpses

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Hugh-W.-Roberts/e/B01N40ZABP/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1486879863&sr=1-2-ent&follow-button-add=B01N40ZABP_author&

About Hugh W. Roberts

Hugh lives in both the town of Abergavenny and the city of Swansea, South Wales, in the United Kingdom.

Hugh has always enjoyed writing and the fact that he suffers from a mild form of dyslexia has not stopped him. He says that he occasionally gets things wrong with his reading and writing but he always finds his mistakes humorous and always laughs about them. Hugh no longer allows dyslexia get in his way. Hugh is now in his fifties and he thought it about time he let his writing become public. Becoming a blogger seemed to be the perfect way for him to do this.

Hugh shares his life with his civil-partner, John and their Cardigan Welsh Corgi, Toby. Hugh has a very positive outlook on life.

You can follow Hugh on his blog https://hughsviewsandnews.com/ and on Twitter https://twitter.com/search?q=%40hughroberts05&src=rela

Happy reading!

 

24 thoughts on “Glimpses by Hugh W. Roberts – my book review

  1. Hi Robbie. Thank you so much for this review of Glimpses. I’m so pleased you enjoyed reading the book. ‘The Truth App’ seems to be a firm favourite, but it’s good to read that you also enjoyed ‘Needles’ as many people have said they were not able to read it all due to its nature. Thanks again.
    Best wishes,
    Hugh

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am glad you were happy with the review. I haven’t done that many reviews but I really wanted to help promote your book because I really like it. I thought Needles was very clever. It was a bit horrific but the way you described her “visions” was excellent.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks, Robbie. Great review. I’ve read some of the stories when Hugh shared them in his blog but must read the book soon. I never pay too much station to star ratings. I prefer to read the content of the review. Thanks!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I enjoyed Glimpses too. I know what you mean about the Truth App. I read it on his blog a year or two ago. He says he changed it a bit for the book. Creepy indeed. But a good read, nonetheless.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

