Lantern #writephoto – The escape

This poem was written for Sue Vincent’s Thursday photo prompt. You can join the fun at https://scvincent.com/2017/01/19/thursday-photo-prompt-lantern-writephoto/

glaston6-024

The escape

Thick tendrils of mist embrace the thick base;

The ancient trunk transforms into an eerie face;

Deep knotholes become dark hooded eyes;

A missing chunk of bark, a mouth that sighs.

 

Frothy fronds of foliage, a frame of hair;

In entirety a figure of torturous despair;

A screeching owl rents the dark;

Making my anxiety feel keen and stark.

 

I plunge along the path to escape its leer;

Knowing my friends at this would sneer;

To venture into the forest just before dawn;

Nothing could be easier, I’d thought with scorn.

 

I topple over a root, and tear off my nail;

I jump up and run on, before my nerves can fail;

The glimmer of a lantern appears up ahead;

I trade dim trees for houses and light instead.

by Robbie Cheadle

Follow Robbie Cheadle on:

Blog: robbiesinspiration.wordpress.com

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/15584446.Robbie_Cheadle

Plus.google: https://plus.google.com/105609586198905397891

Facebook: @SirChocolateBooks

Twitter: @bakeandwrite

 

11 thoughts on “Lantern #writephoto – The escape

Leave a Reply

