An interview with Jillian Quinn, author of Corrupt Me

Thank you Jillian Quinn, author of Corrupt Me, for giving me the opportunity to interview you and to learn more about both you and your book, Corrupt Me.

Corrupt Me

Corrupt me.png

Synopsis

 Izzie Rinaldi has everything going for her. All she has to do is make it through her senior year of college, and then she’ll be off to law school, one step closer to assuming her position at the head of her family’s empire. After a chance encounter with the campus bad boy, Izzie can’t get him out of her head. Luca Marchese, the smooth-talking son of the most notorious man in Philadelphia, is used to getting what he wants. He hasn’t forgotten the girl he knew as a child, and now that he has Izzie’s attention, Luca will stop at nothing to have her. Luca’s defiance of the law turns Izzie on more than she cares to admit. She wants Luca to corrupt her in every way possible, despite his reputation as the king of one-night stands. Their attraction is undeniable, but their desire for one another isn’t enough for Izzie to overlook visits from federal agents and the potential ruin of her family. Linked to Luca and a criminal underworld, Izzie discovers she’s more like him than she thought. But a future with Luca could mean swapping her diamond bracelets for a pair of handcuffs.

An interview with Jillian Quinn

Hi Jillian, thank you for agreeing to answer some questions on my blog about yourself and your writing.

Robbie: Did you enjoy writing when you were at school or did your writing ability develop when you were an adult?

Jillian: I wrote a fair amount when I was a child and liked to tell stories. My favourite subject was always English at school. I didn’t start writing seriously until a few years ago when I started to work from home. That allowed me enough free time to finally start writing and plotting.

[That is a very fortunate position to be in, Jillian.]

Robbie: Did anything in particular inspire you to write Corrupt Me?

Jillian: I was having one of my Mafia move binge days, switiching from the movie Goodfellas to The Godfather, both of which are my favourite movies of all time. I started to think about the relationships between both Karen and Henry in Goodfellas and Michael and Kay in The Godfather. Karen was strong and stood up to Henry, and I always respected her for that, where Kay backed down to Michael and let him control her and the kids until she finally had the nerve to leave him. Izzie’s character was inspired by the portrayal of Karen Hill by Lorriane Bracco in Goodfellas.

[That is very interesting. I must say that I loved the character of Izzie and found her to be a very strong and determined woman.]

Robbie: Is Corrupt Me based on personal experience or is it purely fictional?

Jillian: Corrupt Me is purely fictional. Strickland University, the college campus from the book, is a combination of University of Pennsylvania (UPenn) and Temple University, set in the proximity of Peirce College on Broad Street, where I graduated from college. I also went to Temple University and had a lot of friends that were in the fraternity. I was also friends with the president of the fraternity who had a bedroom very similar to the one in Corrupt Me, where he let my friends and me hand out so we didn’t have to deal with drunken frat guys. I guess I have a soft spot for fraternity guys, which is why I chose Luca as the president of his fraternity.

[I must say, Jillian’s depiction of the lifestyle of the frat guys was quite an eye-opener for me and I found it fascinating.]

Robbie: Is Corrupt Me in line with your own favourite genre of fiction or have you ventured into something different for your own writing endeavour?

Jillian: I hadn’t read a mafia romance novel until after I wrote and edited Corrupt Me. The sub-genre always follows the alpha male story with rough sex scenes that I personally don’t find as appealing as what I did with Corrupt Me. I also didn’t want to write a dark mafia romance because I wanted the book to appeal to more than the BDSM readers who like that sort of thing.

[I think you did a great job of giving Corrupt Me wider appeal.]

Robbie: Did you write Corrupt Me in a single rush of artistic enthusiasm or did you have to labour over some parts of it?

Jillian: I wrote the first 45 000 words of Corrupt Me in one weekend. Then, I went back and did a lot of editing and wrote more of the story over the next month or two until I finally had a finished product.

[45 000 in one weekend is a great achievement, well done!]

Robbie: How did you go about getting Corrupt Me published:

Jillian: I sent out to query letters to agents before I decided to self publish. There are plenty of successful romance authors who went this route and I also like to be in control of my work, so I felt as though it was a waste of my time to query agents when I was confident in my writing and new I could do it on my own.

[I think that it is great that you had the confidence and knowledge to do it on your own.]

Robbie: How are you marketing your book?

Jillian: I added the book to NetGalley at the beginning of December with additional marketing that should come out in their January newsletter. I am also hosting my own blog tour as well as paid a blog tour company to host a weekly blitz. Over two hundred bloggers and readers have ARCs of Corrupt Me, so I am hoping word of mouth will also come into play. I also hired a PA to help me with my social media accounts, marketing, giveaways, takeovers, newsletter swaps, and a dozen other things. I was also planning to do Amazon and Facebook promotions as well as a few other things I am looking into.

[Sounds like you have your marketing well in hand.]

 

Jillian: I wrote a few poems over the summer to entertain my friends, but I am not the greatest poetry writer. In October, I wrote a short story that I published in three parts entitled, Circus of Blood, that I wrote for my blog followers to celebrate Halloween. It was well received by my followers, so I decided to add it to Wattpad. I plan to extend the story each October for my followers. Next year, I’m setting the story in London, England and it’s going to have a historical influence from the Tudor period.

[I was one of the followers that really enjoyed Circus of Blood so I am thrilled to hear that you will be extending it this year.]

Robbie: Have you got any other books in the pipeline?

Jillian: My next novel, Parker, is a hockey romance novel that is part of the Face-Off series. Parker comes out on February 14, 2017. I am also releasing Divine Powers, a fantasy romance novel about witches and magic on May 9, 2017. I’m also working on a companion novella for Corrupt Me that I am planning to give out for free to all my newsletter subscribers as well as writing other books in the Philly Corruption and Face-Off series.

[Wow, you have really been very busy – I look forward to seeing all your new books this year.]

Robbie: What are your ambitions for your writing career?

Jillian: I plan to write for the rest of my life. I have roughly twelve books in the works now, five of which I am releasing in 2017. Depending on how fast I write the other books, readers can expect to see some of the titles I already mentioned between 2017 and 2018.

Thank you so much, Jillian, for taking the time to answer my questions.

About Jillian Quinn

jillian-quinn

Jillian Quinn was born and raised in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and currently lives in sunny Cape Coral, Florida where she still pretends it’s okay to drink hot chocolate and curl up on the couch with a good book, even when it’s ninety degrees outside. From an early age, writing and storytelling have been her passion. In her spare time, she loves creating fictional worlds and living inside the minds of her characters as well as reading, art, and watching basketball and hockey. Jillian is also a successful book blogger, dubbed by her followers as The Queen of Rants after making her blog, Rant and Rave About Books, a popular destination in the bookish community because of her honesty and passion for books. Corrupt Me is her first novel with other young adult and new adult titles to follow.

Stalker Links

Facebook | Twitter | Author Website | Goodreads Profile

Purchase Corrupt Me

– Amazon (universal link) myBook.to/CorruptMe

– Barnes & Noble http://tinyurl.com/zmewnm4

– Kobo http://tinyurl.com/hs57ewx

– iBooks http://tinyurl.com/jno2tzhl

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “An interview with Jillian Quinn, author of Corrupt Me

Leave a Reply

