Why you should read to your children

img_0572

I have always believed that reading to your children can only be a good thing but I never really sat down and quantified the benefits. I thought it would be interesting to see what the general view of people is on this question and so I did a bit of research on the benefits of reading to your children. Some of the benefits that emerged are fairly obvious, in particular the following five benefits:

1. Better long-term academic performance by the child;
2. Faster development of basic speech skills;
3. Greater long-term mastery of language;
4. Better communication skills; and
5. Physical ability to handle a book and turn the pages.

There were some other benefits, however, that interested me and which I wouldn’t have thought of immediately, such as:

1. Improved logical thinking skills;
2. Enhanced concentration and discipline; and
3. Increased ability to adapt to new circumstances.

The last two benefits, that I thought were very worthwhile but which are soft skills benefits, are an appreciation of reading and an improved relationship with your child.

All of the benefits listed above are very worthy but the one that interests me the most is the point on increased discipline. I am a chartered accountant with a limited knowledge of psychology but, in my humble opinion, it is a lack of discipline that causes many of the issues that arise with young people. It takes discipline to sit down and study, turning your back on the allure of iphones, ipads and Youtube. In our modern world, studying is necessary if you want to achieve, even if you are very bright and learning comes easily to you – you have to have at least read something in order to have a knowledge of it. It also takes discipline to stand tall in the face of peer pressure and turn away from experimenting with drugs and excessive intake of alcohol. Discipline is even required to read a book instead of resorting to the easier way of enjoying a story in the form of the movie – the gratification with a movie is much quicker and less effort even if a lot of the detail is left out of the story. I feel very strongly about the lack of discipline that has infiltrated our modern society and, therefore, it is very gratifying to me that I can work on instilling discipline in my own children, my nieces and nephews and other children I am in contact with just by reading them a good book.

Follow Robbie Cheadle on:
Blogs: robbiesinspiration.wordpress.com and goodreads.com
Facebook: @SirChocolateBooks
Twitter: @bakeandwrite

22 thoughts on “Why you should read to your children

  1. I was thrilled to give out books for Christmas. It was fun watching them sniff the paper and run their hands lovingly over the colorful covers. It was most fun of all to sit with children surrounding me and read with and listen to them read their special books.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so thankful that both my children love to read!
    The highlights of my day, both at work, and home involve books. When I am at school, reading to my class, and sharing stories, and at home, reading to my children, hearing them read to me, and then reading for myself!
    It not only relaxes you, but is a complete education in itself. Reading allows children, and us, to see entirely different worlds, and points of view. They learn empathy as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good points. I think also reading to your child is a form of quiet, shared intimacy. You are physically, emotionally, and spiritually close to your child during reading, and share quiet conversation, enthusiasm, and perhaps a laugh. You make memories. These are things that help form healthy human relationships, and they can develop from sharing books together.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful post Robbie. I give lots of books to my kids and too way back from school to library has gone a routine for them now. Thanks for this very informative post. In between that fondant book cake looks amazing!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

