It is exactly one week to Christmas today. I have finished my Christmas shopping and dumped the whole lot in the spare room with the door locked. Boy do I hate wrapping up Christmas gifts. I am hoping to persuade my Mom to wrap them up while we are away in the mountains this week.

My Christmas tree has been assembled and decorated and everything is looking very festive and jolly. Work has finished for the year and South Africa is well and truly in the holiday spirit with everyone chucking rich food and alcohol down their throats at every opportunity. Thank goodness for Uber which means no-one needs to drive while under the influence.

Yesterday, we had family over for lunch. It was a wonderful day full of fun, sunshine, swimming and laughter. In honour of the occasion, I decided to make a white and dark chocolate Christmas truffle cake.

The original creator of this recipe is Pete Goffe-Wood, a judge from a previous season of Masterchef South Africa. I have adapted his recipe to suite myself (just like I always do) and this is how I made my version.

Chocolate cake layer

I made my delicious rich chocolate cake and poured half the mixture into a 25 centimetre spring bottom tin, lined with baking paper. I baked this cake for approximately 30 minutes until a cake tester came out clean and the cake was soft and springy to the touch. The video of how to make this cake as cupcakes is set out below. The recipe is the same for a cake.

img_0735

White chocolate layer

To make the white chocolate layer you need the following ingredients:

  • 500 grams good quality white chocolate (I used Lindt chocolate);
  • 375 ml evaporated milk

I melted two thirds of the white chocolate in a double boiler. Once the chocolate was completely melted, I removed it from the heat and added the remaining one third of the white chocolate, allowing the additional chocolate to melt slowly and temper the mixture (reduce the temperature). I lightly beat the evaporated milk and beat it into the cooled white chocolate mixture. I poured this lovely mixture over the chocolate cake and put it in the refrigerator to set for approximately two hours.

img_0738

Final dark chocolate layer

To make the final dark chocolate layer, you will need the following ingredients:

  • 300 grams dark chocolate (I used Lindt 70% cocoa);
  • 250 ml evaporated milk

I melted the dark chocolate in the double boiler in the same way as described above for the white chocolate. I lightly beat the evaporated milk and added it to the cooled chocolate mixture. I poured the chocolate mixture over the set white chocolate layer and put the cake in the refrigerator to set overnight.

img_0739

Serving suggestion

I served the white and dark chocolate Christmas truffle cake with blackberries and mulberries to create a delightful contrast of textures and flavours.

img_0814

Follow Robbie Cheadle at:

Blogs: robbiesinspiration.wordpress.com and goodreads.com

Facebook: @SirChocolateBooks

Twitter: @bakeandwrite

26 thoughts on “White and dark chocolate Christmas truffle cake

  1. Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    Yesterday I did a piece on Christmas pudding and stollen.. and today here is Robbie with an alternative for Christmas Day.. I know how many of you hate chocolate so I am very sorry if this offends you.. but the for the handful of us who are addicted to the stuff.. well dive in… pity Robbie lives in South Africa.. she would be in demand around here for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi robbiesinspiration. So nice to meet you. an Amazing blog so artistic this would encourage me to eat more. Thank you for wanting to follow my poetry adventures. I am very interested in all things Paranormal! Use to be in a Ghost Hunting group! UFO’s! Conspiracy theories always truth behind the myth! Observing this crazy violent society! Writing is a passion that keeps me sane and alive! Peace and Best Wishes. TheFoureyedPoet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

