Hype or like Friday – Overhyped books that let you down

Hype or Like Fridays is a theme created by Jill @ Rant and Rave Books, Larkin @ Wonderfilled Reads and Britt @ Geronimo Reads. This week the subject is “Overhyped books that let you down”.

As I am very particular about my own “adult” reading due to the limited time I have to read for myself, I don’t continue with any book that I don’t like. I have, however, had some let downs with books Michael and I have read together.

The book that I felt most let down by this year is The 78-story treehouse. I had heard such great things about this series of books and felt it was a must read. We bought the book whilst on holiday in New Zealand in August this year and we started reading it a couple of weeks ago. The ideas and the pictures were fun and very appealing to children aged 9 to 11, but I didn’t think the book flowed very well. It seemed to jump randomly from one idea to the next. I also felt the text was very skimpy and the ideas could have been fleshed out a lot more.

The other book that I felt let me down was Will Solvit and the T-Rex Terror. The story itself was enjoyable; there was lots of action and plenty of interesting facts about dinosaurs’ throughout the book. What I didn’t like about the book was Will’s attitude to school and his teacher. Children are very influenced by characters in books and on television and I don’t like any promotion of the idea that school is not “cool” and that it is acceptable to be cheeky to authority figures. My older son once blew pepper into Michael’s face after watching an episode of Scooby Doo on television where Shaggy does that very thing. Michael is a chronic asthmatic so this did not result in a happy weekend for our family.

What books have you read this year that you felt let you down? Do you have a different opinion on the two books I have discussed above? I would love to hear your views.

Follow Robbie Cheadle at:

Blogs: robbiesinspiration.wordpress.com and goodreads.com

Facebook: @SirChocolateBooks

Twitter: @bakeandwrite

One thought on “Hype or like Friday – Overhyped books that let you down

Leave a Reply

