Fantasy gold roses birthday cake

Today we celebrated my mom’s birthday. It was a wonderful afternoon of good food and good wine. All three of my beautiful sisters came with their husbands and children as well as our Great-Granny Toots, Granny Cynthia and my sister-in-law. Our cousin, who is currently visiting from the UK, also joined us for lunch which was a lovely treat for us all. Michael and I did a lot of baking for this much anticipated event. We were up at 5am this morning baking a cheese bread and a nutty-wheat brown bread as well finishing off our amazing chocolate marble fantasy gold roses birthday cake.

img_0697

I have been making the gold roses for this cake for the past few weeks and finished off the gold rose leaves during the course of this week. The nine roses were all dusted with edible gold glitter and the rose leaves were painted with edible gold food colouring and wired to look as realistic as possible.

The larger bottom cake was a chocolate and vanilla marble cake. This cake was a bit of an effort to make as I had to make the chocolate and the vanilla cake mixtures separately and then gently swirl them together in the prepared cake tin. The top smaller cake was a rich chocolate cake, the recipe for which can be found in Book 2: Sir Chocolate and the baby cookie monster story and cookbook and the YouTube video can be found on the Baking videos and tutorials page of this blog.

Once the cakes had baked and had cooled completely, I iced them with a thin layer of vanilla butter icing to make sure that the surfaces of each cake were completely smooth. I then made a triple mixture of chocolate ganache icing. My recipe for chocolate ganache is really simple, I brought 100 ml of whipping cream to the boil and then added 200 grams of chopped chocolate. Once the chocolate was melted, I whisked the mixture with a wire whisk to remove any lumps and make sure that it was smooth. I placed the two cakes on two separate wire racks and poured the chocolate ganache over the top of each cake, moving from the centre outwards. I used an icing smoother to make sure that the sides of the cakes were evenly covered with ganache and that there were no patches.

I then carefully placed the wire racks onto two biscuit baking trays and put them in the refrigerator to set. While the ganache was setting, we made a batch of royal icing. The recipe for royal icing appears in Book 1: Sir Chocolate and the strawberry cream berries story and cookbook and the YouTube video appears on the Book 1: Sir Chocolate and the strawberry cream berries page of this blog. When the ganache had set completely, I used a cake lifter to lift the larger cake onto the cake board and then carefully lifted the smaller cake and placed it on top of the larger cake. I placed the smaller cake towards the back of the larger cake. I made a thick brown ribbon out of brown coloured fondant for around the bottom of the smaller cake to hide any unevenness resulting from the lifting and placing of the cake. I attached the nine gold roses to the cake using royal icing, three on the top cake, five around the front of the larger cake and one on the cake board. I balanced the single rose on the cake board with a spray of gold rose leaves on the other side. I attached the smaller gold leaf sprays in between the roses as shown in the picture. This done, I placed the entire cake into the refrigerator and left it until just before I served it after lunch. I must say, I was very pleased with the effect of the gold against the chocolate icing and my guests certainly reacted with great enthusiasm. The tiny little piece of cake remaining at the end of the day is a testimony to the success of this chocolate fantasy gold roses cake. Happy birthday, Mom!

 

 

6 thoughts on “Fantasy gold roses birthday cake

Leave a Reply

