How to make a fantasy rose

img_0673

My mother loves to garden. She has been coming up with all sorts of lovely ideas for our garden this spring and has planted a variety of bright and colourful spring flowers in a wheelbarrow and in a number of hanging baskets. She loves all sorts of flowers but she particularly loves roses. During the summer months our pavement is a brilliant display of standing roses in a number of colours, including, yellow, crimson, pink and orange. As a tribute to my amazing mother, I have decided to make her a fantasy cake for her 78th birthday which is fast approaching. The cake will feature nine open roses in glittering gold and swathes of rose leaves creeping up the cake, also painted gold. One of the nine roses features in the picture above and the details set out below illustrate how I made it.

How to start

To make an open rose you need rose petal cutters in three different sizes and a ball tool. I coloured white fondant with gold powdered food colouring and kneaded it until the colour was completely even. I broke off a small piece and rolled it into a ball. With a sharp pair of scissors I sniped into the top of the ball to create the illusion of the stamens. I then rolled out the gold fondant as thinly as possible. I cut out five petals using the smallest petal cutter and ten medium sized petals.

img_0660

I ran the ball tool gently around the outside of each petal to frill and thin the edges. This gives the petals a more realistic shape and look.

Assembly

Using sugar glue, dabbed from the bottom of the petal to about half way up the petal on both sides, I wrapped each small petal around the centre to form the inner layer of the rose. I then attached the ten middle size petals in two layers around the smaller inner layer, overlapping each new petal on the join between the two underlying petals. I crumpled silver foil into a bowl-type shape and gently lowered the rose into the cup. I used thin pieces of foil to separate some of the petals and give the rose more shape. I dusted each petal with edible gold glitter and then I put the rose aside to dry overnight.

The following day, I rolled out more gold fondant and cut out seven large rose petals. I frilled and thinned these petals as described above. I flipped the dry flower over and  attached the seven large petals to the rose using edible glue. I opened up my silver foil cup and gently dropped the fuller rose into the enlarged cup. I dusted the entire rose with edible gold glitter and left the entire creation to dry overnight. The following day the rose was ready for use although you can keep fondant flowers for a number of months in a cardboard box.

Tip

Don’t seal fondant flowers in Tupperware or other plastic boxes as the fondant goes soft and the flowers loose their shape and form.

 

One thought on “How to make a fantasy rose

Leave a Reply

